Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Hannah Cohen - Pleasure Boy Vinyl LP - direct audio

Hannah Cohen - Pleasure Boy Vinyl LP

Bella Union Records

  • $ 1898

Hannah Cohen Pleasure Boy Vinyl LP

Music often comes from a deep place, and in the case of Hannah Cohen’s stunning and heartrending second album, it’s very deep indeed. Mainly inspired by a painful break-up and the anxieties that loss can trigger, Pleasure Boy cushions its sadness in an exquisitely nuanced soundscape of aching melancholy and lush melody where Hannah’s vocal conveys all the different shades of heartbreak. Following the album’s completion, she’s survived the calamity and found a new level of happiness, but to paraphrase the classic '60s hit, there will always be something there to remind her with Pleasure Boy.

Pleasure Boy, like her debut Child Bride, was produced by Thomas Bartlett, aka Doveman, whose work with artists such as The National, Antony Hegarty, David Byrne and Nico Muhly singles him out as one of America’s current finest producers and collaborators, though he’s also a talented pianist. The dynamics of Pleasure Boy was the result of Hannah and Bartlett, “bunkering down with my songs, experimenting with different tones and sounds, and layering them. My first record was so airy and roomy, I didn’t have patience for that again, I wanted more movement, something more mysterious and witchier, so we created this sound wall together.”

Embellishing the sound are Ray Rizzo (drums), Josh Kaufman (bass), Doug Weiselman (horns) and Doveman (keys). Hannah mostly wrote the album on guitar (except "Watching You Fall" on autoharp and "I’ll Fake It" on omnichord), though the album’s only guitar features on "Baby." “Over the last two years, it’s all been super-shoegazey stuff, we just went the other way,” she says. "Queen Of Ice" features a saxophone spiralling like a ghost through the haunting, suspenseful mood and emotional fall-out. "Just Take The Rest," the album’s lead single, has a '60s Ye Ye pop feel, while the album’s other uptempo cut "I’ll Fake It" is more new wave-meets-cold-wave. “I wanted the music to hurt, to have a visceral effect,” Hannah says. Her voice sometimes sounds delirious or icy; other times she recalls the vulnerable, piercing beauty of Harriet Wheeler (The Sundays) and Karen Peris (The Innocence Mission); heady company indeed.

But Pleasure Boy‘s sound wouldn’t exist without the vision that launched it. The album title arrived as the record took shape. “Pleasure Boy is a character of who it’s about, someone who represents gluttony and decadence and richness,” Hannah explains. She admits it was a tough record to make, given she was aiming to heal emotionally while feeling “devastated and hurt. But it wouldn’t be the record it is if I hadn’t done that.”

There are various facets to a break-up – from “worrying about someone not being good to themselves” ("Watching You Fall") to her lover, “being in love with someone else, but still keeping me around” ("Keepsake"). But there’s also room on Pleasure Boy for other loves and lives, such as the elderly and dear family friend in "Clairemont" who Hannah got to spend a precious day with before he died. “It’s a song about love, and people close to me, about being weak in front of someone and being OK with that… It all came together on that song.”

Hannah Cohen Pleasure Boy Track Listing:

1. Keepsake
2. Lilacs
3. Watching You Fall
4. Fake It
5. Claremont
6. Queen Of Ice
7. Just Take The Rest
8. Baby

We Also Recommend