We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Hayes Carll - What It Is 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Hayes Carll - What It Is 180g Vinyl LP

Dualtone Records

  • $ 2498

Hayes Carll What It Is 180g Vinyl LP

Houston, TX troubadour Hayes Carll's list of accomplishments is long. His third album, 2008's Trouble In Mind, earned him an Americana Music Association Award for Song of the Year (for "She Left Me for Jesus"). The follow-up, KMAG YOYO was the most played album on the Americana Chart in 2011 and spawned covers by artists as varied as Hard Working Americans and Lee Ann Womack, whose version of "Chances Are" garnered Carll a Grammy nomination for Best Country Song.

2016's Lovers and Leavers swept the Austin Music Awards, and was his fourth record in a row to reach #1 on the Americana Airplay chart. Kelly Willis and Kenny Chesney have chosen to record his songs. Carll is the rare artist who can rock a packed dancehall one night and hold a listening room at rapt attention the next.

On What It Is, Hayes Carll is leaving the past behind. "I want to dig in so this life doesn't just pass me by. The more engaged I am the more meaning it all has. I want that to be reflected in the work," Carll says. The new album covers a broad range of topics both timely and constant; the desire to bridge the country's political divide, the ups and downs of relationships, and the challenge to stay present in your life as it goes by. What It Is continues the artistic risk-taking initiated by 2016's Lovers and Leavers; his voice is strong and assured, and his songwriting as truthful as ever.

"Gimlet eyed and smart mouthed, with a self-deprecating kind of swagger, he has positioned himself as an heir to outlaw-country royalty like Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson and especially Ray Wylie Hubbard" - New York Times

Hayes Carll What It Is Track Listing:

1. None'ya
2. Times Like These
3. Things You Don't Wanna Know
4. If I May Be So Bold
5. Jesus And Elvis
6. American Dream
7. Be There
8. Beautiful Thing
9. What It Is
10. Fragile Men
11. Wild Pointy Finger
12. I Will Stay

We Also Recommend