We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Hazel English - Just Give In / Never Going Home 180g Colored Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Hazel English - Just Give In / Never Going Home 180g Colored Vinyl 2LP

Polyvinyl Records

  • $ 1998

Hazel English Just Give In / Never Going Home 180g Colored Vinyl 2LP

Following a hugely successful 2016, 26 year old indie sensation Hazel English releases the new two EP set titled Just Give In / Never Going Home, compiling her debut EP alongside six new tracks to make her first full LP-length collection. The Never Going Home side combines the hazy, direct songs that have helped Hazel rise to prominence this past year, while the Just Give In side documents her blossoming creative partnership with Jackson Phillips (aka Day Wave).

Each song sports a timeless, sun-kissed aesthetic that you might expect from Bay Area-based creatives, but Hazel's direct style and pop sensibility take things to another level. In other hands, you could imagine these songs being direct, shiny chart smashes. It's not inconceivable to envisage the world's biggest stars flocking to Hazel for the perfect hook. Plenty of these arrive on Just Give In / Never Going Home. The glistening "Birthday" captures summertime melancholy with smart precision, new single "Fix" flips excess on its head, while "It's Not Real" is a brilliantly stark account of how the mind plays tricks on you.

Closing song "That Thing" is an exciting outlier on the release. A perfectly-paced collision of stirring synths and circuiting basslines, it sees her working with Justin Raisen, a deskman described as Ariel Rechtshaid's protégé, with production credits including Angel Olsen's sensational My Woman, as well as Sky Ferreira and Charli XCX. Although this shift in direction could remain a complete one-off in Hazel's back catalog, it's further proof that she can work magic in different territories.

Hazel English Just Give In / Never Going Home Track Listing:

1. Other Lives
2. Fix
3. Birthday
4. Love Is Dead
5. More Like You
6. Never Going Home
7. Make It Better
8. Control
9. It's Not Real
10. I'm Fine
11. That Thing

We Also Recommend