We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Hembree - House on Fire Vinyl LP - direct audio

Hembree - House on Fire Vinyl LP


  • $ 1798

Hembree House on Fire Vinyl LP

Inspired by the boundary-pushing production, rhythm, and pastiche of hip-hop, classic beat-infused rock like Talking Heads, Blondie, and The Police, and danceable indie music like Gorillaz and St. Vincent, House on Fire is the debut album from Kansas City's Hembree...one of NPR's Spotlight Artists to Watch and Rolling Stone's 'Best Artists We Saw at SXSW.' Featuring ten tracks recorded with producer Eric Hillman in Nashville, Tennessee.

"The album is about being from the Midwest and owning it, but at the same time being torn by whether or not it's where we're supposed to be," Isaac Flynn says. "I'm 27 but I feel like it's a coming of age record, too. There's a lot of grit to the record, as a lot of Midwesterners have this chip on their shoulder, like, ‘I can do this!' But despite my outgoing personality, there's also a lot of grappling with the darker side of life.

The music and lyrics are a way for me to express a different side of my personality and have allowed me to put anything I'm wrestling with internally out into the world. Through writing these songs, I figured out my identity." Flynn calls the songs on House on Fire "scrappy," a production vibe that matches the grit of the lyrics and stories he is telling. The songs retain a high production value but possess the toughness and authentic character of the region from which they were created.

Lead single, "Culture," begins with a sonic storm of synth and drum beats while Flynn sings "the king of the culture is never really free" as a mantra. "Almost" is an upbeat, 80's-era stomper in the vein of Phoenix or later period Strokes with a laser-sharp fuzz riff that is sure to set the stage ablaze. "Skyline" begins with a confident strum before kicking off into the synth stratosphere and highlights the gorgeous timbre of Flynn's voice, and "Heart" is a sentimental number built from the strength of its climbing chorus about putting insignificant things aside in order to embrace what you have in the moment.

Hembree House on Fire Track Listing:

1. I Don't Know Why
2. Culture
3. Right Time
4. Skyline
5. Heart
6. Continents
7. Almost
8. Never See It
9. Symmetry Lines
10. House On Fire

We Also Recommend