Cart 0
Hot Tuna - Hot Tuna on LP - direct audio

Hot Tuna - Hot Tuna Vinyl LP

Sundazed Records

  • $ 2498

Hot Tuna Hot Tuna Vinyl LP

Sourced from the Original Analog RCA Masters

Jefferson Airplane members Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady formed Hot Tuna in 1969 during a hiatus while Grace Slick recovered from throat surgery. What began as a rootsy side project quickly became a full-fledged band, one that ultimately far out-lived the original group. Based from the start on Kaukonen's and Casady's expert musicianship, Hot Tuna sought to explore traditional blues and folk styles apart from the heavy rock sound of the Airplane.

Longtime students of folk-blues pioneers like Reverend Gary Davis, Blind Blake and Jelly Roll Morton, the duo mixed traditional songs with their own compositions in a stripped-down, primarily acoustic style. At at time when Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin and their peers were adding stack after Marshall stack to their stage gear, this was indeed a radical move.

Recorded live during a week of shows at Berkeley's New Orleans House, the band's self-titled 1970 debut is an acoustic affair highlighting the country blues approach of their heroes. It features several of their signature songs, including "Hesitation Blues," "Uncle Same Blues" and "Know You Rider." Listen closely during "Uncle Sam Blues" for the sound of breaking beer glasses. This bit of audio verite resulted in it being nicknamed 'the breaking glass album' by the group's loyal fanbase.

This landmark recording has been sourced from the original analog RCA masters and includes the complete original artwork. A riveting performance from beginning to end, Hot Tuna was the start of one of the most successful and influential branches in rock music's ever-evolving family tree.

Hot Tuna Hot Tuna Track Listing:

1. Hesitation Blues
2. How Long Blues
3. Uncle Sam Blues
4. Don't You Leave Me Here
5. Death Don't Have No Mercy
6. Know You Rider
7. Oh Lord, Search My Heart
8. Winin' Boy Blues
9. New Song (For The Morning)

We Also Recommend