Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Iggy Pop - The Idiot Vinyl LP - direct audio

Iggy Pop - The Idiot Vinyl LP

Virgin Records

  • $ 1998

Iggy Pop The Idiot Vinyl LP

Originally released in 1977, this was the first album Iggy Pop made after the dissolution of the Stooges, several jailings, and a self-imposed stay in a mental institution. Produced by David Bowie, and including music written almost entirely by him, this is Iggy’s most introspective and heavy work. Much more mechanical than the sleazy proto-punk of the Stooges, The Idiot was a huge influence on the post-punk sound of folks like Joy Division and Magazine.

Iggy Pop’s debut solo album was recorded in a large collaboration effort with David Bowie. Drawing on the electronic sounds of German groups such as Kraftwerk, The Idiot is a departure from the hard rock of Pop's former band the Stooges, and has been compared to Bowie's contemporaneous albums in its treated instrument sounds and introspective atmosphere.

Iggy Pop The Idiot Track Listing:

1. Sister Midnight
2. Nightclubbing
3. Funtime
4. Baby
5. China Girl
6. Dum Dum Boys
7. tiny Girls
8. Mass Production

We Also Recommend