Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Imelda May - Tribal Vinyl LP - direct audio

Imelda May - Tribal Vinyl LP

Verve Records

  • $ 1998

Imelda May Tribal Vinyl LP

Tribal is the third full-length album from Irish rockabilly/jazz singer Imelda May which has already debuted at #1 in Ireland and #3 in the UK. The record marks the first release from May since 2010’s Mayhem, of which The Los Angeles Times commented, “Ireland-born Imelda May’s career is fostered by paying homage to legends like Buddy Holly and Johnny Cash and, more importantly, furthering rockabilly’s cross-pollination into New Orleans jazz, delta blues and amp-splitting punk aggression.”

Although May became a mother just last summer, “There are no lullabies on this album,” she assures. May took about three months to write the songs for Tribal - she co-wrote “Little Pixie” with her brother Fintan Clabby, and her husband Darrel Higham wrote both “Ghost of Love” and “Five Good Men.” The band recorded the album at Livingston Studios in West London where May co-produced the album with Mike Crossey. Of Tribal, May says “I wanted to inject the rebelliousness of punk and early rock ‘n’ roll into this album.”

May’s own brand of rockabilly sound has been a hit, with her previous release Mayhem hitting Platinum in Ireland and Gold in the U.K. Performing a fusion of surf guitars, blues and rockabilly, her current lineup consists of husband Darrel Higham on guitars, Al Gare on double-bass, Dave Priseman on trumpet and Steve Rushton on drums. The band has shared stages with Bono, Chuck Berry, David Gilmore, Shane Macgowan, Van Morrison, Jeff Beck, Wanda Jackson, Paul Brady, Jamie Cullum, and Meatloaf.

Imelda May Tribal Track Listing:

1. Tribal
2. Wild Woman
3. It’s Good To Be Alive
4. Gypsy In Me
5. Little Pixie
6. Hellfire Club
7. Five Good Men
8. Ghost Of Love
9. Wicked Way
10. Round The Bend
11. I Wanna Dance
12. Right Amount Of Wrong

We Also Recommend