Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Insecure Men - Insecure Men Vinyl LP - direct audio

Insecure Men - Insecure Men Vinyl LP

Fat Possum Records

  • $ 1798

Insecure Men Insecure Men Vinyl LP

In many ways Insecure Men – the band led by the fiercely talented songwriter and musician Saul Adamczewski and his schoolmate and stabilizing influence, Ben Romans-Hopcraft – are the polar opposite of the Fat White Family. Whereas sleaze-mired, country-influenced, drug-crazed garage punks the Fat Whites are a "celebration of everything that is wrong in life," Insecure Men, who blend together exotica, easy listening, lounge and timeless pop music, are, by comparison at least, the last word in wholesomeness.

The band originally formed in 2015 in the cramped confines of The Queens Head pub, Stockwell, in the Fat White Family's notorious South London ‘practice space'. With so many hard living musicians all crammed into one room and other tenants in the same building, it soon became clear, says Saul, occasionally they had to make music that wasn't "just noise" so he started writing quieter, more reflective songs.

He says despite their shared origins he felt that "what I did in Insecure Men couldn't really be expressed via Fat White Family." Saul recorded all of the songs he wrote at The Queens Head onto tape at Sean Lennon's studio in upstate New York. This tape, recorded on his own in a corridor onto an ancient Tascam, essentially became Insecure Men's self-titled debut album as more and more layers were dubbed over the top until nothing of the original demos even remained.

Saul, a true head and music lover lists some of the influences on their sound, mentioning the exotica of Arthur Lyman, the early electronic pop of Perrey and Kingsley, the supreme smoothness of The Carpenters, the songwriting chops of Harry Nilsson and the hypnagogic uncanniness conjured up by David Lynch, describing what they do as "pretty music with a dark underbelly to it." "Cliff Has Left The Building" is about "Operation Yew Tree's greatest urban myth"; "Whitney Houston & I" (which features pre-teen pop singers the Honey Hahs) is about the similar ways in which the tragic mother and daughter, Bobbi, died; while unashamed banger "Mekong Glitter" is about the now disgraced Gary Glitter.

And that's all before we get to the first track to be released from the album, "Subaru Nights" which is a celebration of suburbia and exotica, like Mike Leigh's Abigail's Party soundtracked by the sounds of Martin Denny's imaginary Hawaii. Then two main single releases will be the unbelievably catchy "Teenage Toy," which has a chorus rescued from a song by The Saudis and the beautiful bittersweet love song "I Don't Wanna Dance."

Insecure Men Insecure Men Track Listing:

1. Subaru Nights
2. Teenage Toy
3. All Women Love Me
4. Mekong Glitter
5. Heathrow
6. I Don't Wanna Dance (With My Baby)
7. The Saddest Man in Penge
8. Ulster
9. Cliff Has Left The Building
10. Whitney Houston & I
11. Buried In The Bleak

We Also Recommend