Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Ironing Board Sam - Super Spirit Vinyl LP - direct audio

Ironing Board Sam - Super Spirit Vinyl LP

Big Legal Mess Records

  • $ 1798

Ironing Board Sam Super Spirit Vinyl LP

Legendary soul man Ironing Board Sam - long lost for a time - has completed a comeback to the music world. This year will see Big Legal Mess Records release his label debut Super Spirit in October 2015. The artist behind a series of in-demand 45s from that era, Sam was also a regular on 1960s soul TV program Night Train.

For Super Spirit, Ironing Board Sam traveled to producer Bruce Watson's Dial Back Studio in Water Valley, Mississippi to record with guitarist and co-producer Jimbo Mathus, drummer Barrett Martin (Screaming Trees), bassist Stu Cole (Squirrel Nut Zippers). Using Sam's ‘60s and ‘70s singles as inspiration, Watson chose songs from the repertoires of Ann Peebles, The Gories, Jimbo Mathus , Jack Oblivian, Roy Hawkins and more.

Sam earned his nickname Ironing Board Sam by mounting his keyboard on an ironing board with a strap that allowed him to walk the stage while playing.

Ironing Board Sam Super Spirit Track Listing:

1. Baby You Got It
2. Hold On
3. I Still Love You
4. I Can't Take It
5. Honey Baby
6. Loose Diamonds
7. I'm Gone
8. I Wanna Be There
9. I'm Looking for a Woman
10. Super Spirit

We Also Recommend