Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Jaco Pastorius - Invitation 180g Import Vinyl LP - direct audio

Jaco Pastorius - Invitation 180g Import Vinyl LP

Music on Vinyl Records

  • $ 2698

Jaco Pastorius Invitation 180g Import Vinyl LP

Live Album On 180g Audiophile Vinyl LP!

Invitation was the third album by Jaco Pastorius, originally released in 1983 while the bassist was a member of Weather Report. This is a live album recorded at various venues during a tour of Japan, featuring his "Word of Mouth" big band. While his debut album Jaco Pastorius showcased his eclectic and impressive skills on the electric bass, both Invitation and his previous album, Word of Mouth, focused more on his ability to arrange for a larger band.

This album features mostly numbers written by other artists. The exceptions are "Continuum", from his debut album, and "Liberty City", from Word of Mouth, as well as "Reza", an original number bookending his version of John Coltrane's "Giant Steps".

The band's all-star cast included Randy Brecker, Bobby Mintzer, Toots Thielemans, Peter Erskine, Othello Molineaux and Don Alias.


Jaco Pastorius, bass
Don Alias, percussion
Randy Brecker, trumpet
Peter Erskine, drums, timpani, gong
Bobby Mintzer, tenor and soprano sax, bass clarinet
Othello Molineaux, steel drums
Toots Thielemans, harmonica
Jon Faddis, lead trumpet
Elmer Brown, trumpet
Forrest Buchtel, trumpet
Ron Tooley, trumpet
Wayne Andre, lead trombone
David Bargeron, trombone/tuba
Peter Graves, trombone
Bill Reichenbach, trombone
Mario Cruz, tenor and soprano sax, clarinet
Randy Emerick, baritone sax, clarinet, alto flute
Alex Foster, tenor, alto and soprano sax, clarinet, piccolo
Paul McCandliss, tenor sax, oboe, English horn
Peter Gordon, French horn
Brad Warnaar, French horn

Jaco Pastorius Invitation Track Listing:

1. Invitation
2. Amerika
3. Soul Intro/The Chicken
4. Continuum
5. Liberty City
6. Sophisticated Lady
7. Reza/Giant Steps/Reza (Reprise)
8. Fannie Mae
9. Eleven

We Also Recommend