We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Jamila Woods - Legacy! Legacy! Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Jamila Woods - Legacy! Legacy! Vinyl 2LP

Jagjaguwar Records

  • $ 2498

Jamila Woods Legacy! Legacy! Vinyl 2LP

More than just giving the song titles the names of historical black and brown icons of literature, art, and music, Jamila Woods builds a sonic and lyrical monument to the various modes of how these icons tried to push beyond the margins a country had assigned to them on Legacy! Legacy!

From the airy boom-bap of "Giovanni" to the psychedelic flourishes of "Sonia," the instrument which ties the musical threads together is the ability of Woods to find her pockets in the waves of instrumentation, stretching syllables and vowels over the harmony of noise until each puzzle piece has a home. The whimsical and malleable nature of sonic delights also grants a path for collaborators to flourish: the sparkling flows of Nitty Scott on "Sonia" and Saba on "Basquiat," or the bloom of Nico Segal's horns on "Baldwin."

Jamila Woods Legacy! Legacy! Track Listing:

1. Betty
2. Zora
3. Giovanni
4. Sonia (feat. Nitty Scott)
5. Frida
6. Eartha
7. Miles
8. Buddy
9. Basquiat (feat. Saba)
10. Sun Ra (feat. theMIND and Jasminfire)
11. Octavia
12. Baldwin (feat. Nico Segal)
13. Betty (for Boogie)

We Also Recommend