Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Jeb Loy Nichols - Country Hustle Vinyl LP - direct audio

Jeb Loy Nichols - Country Hustle Vinyl LP

InKind Music

  • $ 1998

Jeb Loy Nichols Country Hustle Vinyl LP

Jeb Loy Nichols is an American-born singer, songwriter, musician, and artist currently living in Wales. His music combines elements of soul, country, folk, reggae, blues and even some hip-hop. The tireless troubadour is pleased to present his classic-in the-making new album Country Hustle, via his own label City Country City. The potent collection features collaborations with such a diverse set of artists as Andrew Hale (Sade), DJ Shadow, Spooner Oldham (Muscle Shoals), Distance and Nostalgia 77.

Jeb Loy Nichols explains: "Country Hustle has been, like most things in my life, a slow, meandering process," Jeb Loy Nichols explains. "It started life three years ago when I met Andrew Hale, Sade's keyboardist and co-writer. He invited me, when I was visiting London, to come to his studio and make some music. I've lived on a remote small holding in Wales for twenty years and there's always plenty to do; fences to be mended, trees to plant, wood to chop, starlings to watch, vegetables to harvest, walks to take. I don't get to London very often so it was a while before I could take Andrew up on his offer."

He adds, "Over the course of the next couple years, when I had reason to visit London, we'd meet and make music. We worked quickly, sometimes with friends, sometimes on our own. We recorded, over three years, thirty songs. I also managed a couple days with Benedic Lamdin and a few afternoons with St Francis Hotel – between us we recorded the tunes for Country Hustle. It's definitely a Country Soul record – the country music I grew up with in Missouri, mixed with the soul and hip-hop I loved in New York and London, filtered through the quiet spaces of Wales."

"This is great. He's doing now what we were doing back then." - Spooner Oldham

"He's a brother to me, and one of the best singer/songwriters I've ever met." - Adrian Sherwood

"A conscious, soulful brother." - Horace Andy

Lovely, genial funk in the vein of Bill Withers and JJ Cale." - The Independent

Jeb Loy Nichols Country Hustle Track Listing:

1. Come See Me
2. Maisy Hay
3. Don't Drop Me
4. I Hate Hate
5. That's How We're Living
6. Katie Blue
7. Till The Teardrops Stop
8. Never Too Much
9. That's All I Want
10. You Got In
11. Regret
12. Long Live The Loser

We Also Recommend