Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Jimmy Sweeney - Without You Vinyl LP + Booklet - direct audio

Jimmy Sweeney - Without You Vinyl LP + Booklet

Original Recording Group

  • $ 2498

Jimmy Sweeney Without You Vinyl LP + Booklet

Features rare and unreleased tracks from Jimmy Sweeney, Includes 12-page booklet with extensive liner notes from writer Chris Kennedy

First retrospective album from the artist who inspired Elvis Presley's earliest work!

The story of this compilation begins with a decades old myth; the "mystery singer" on a 10-inch acetate demo played to Elvis by Sam Phillips in June of 1954. Phillips, who was unable to ascertain the name of the singer, asked Elvis to sing the song as a debut record. The young, unknown Elvis was daunted by the performance. After attempting to record the song, Elvis felt he could not do it justice, and went on to record "That's All Right."

The demo's existence became an urban myth. The singer was finally identied as Jimmy Sweeney in early 2017 by writer Chris Kennedy, whose suspicions were conrmed by multiple sources, including Jimmy's daughter Eugenia. Sweeney's masterpiece will finally be released under his own name on this compilation. In addition to "Without You," the album features some of Sweeney's best recordings, many of which were never released to the public.

Jimmy Sweeney Without You Track Listing:

1. Without You
2. Deep Blues
3. I Pay With Every Breath
4. It Wouldn’t Be The Same (Without You)
5. Desire
6. Danny Boy
7. Don’t Come In Here
8. Tobacco Road
9. Gonna Find My Sweetheart
10. Flippity Flop
11. Sick, Sick, Sick
12. She Wears My Ring
13. Where You Lead Me
14. Lunch In A Bucket
15. Afraid
16. What’cha Gonna Do About Me
17. Deacon Brown

We Also Recommend