We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Joe Strummer And The Mescaleros - Streetcore Remastered Vinyl LP + CD - direct audio

Joe Strummer And The Mescaleros - Streetcore Remastered Vinyl LP + CD

Hellcat Records

  • $ 2498

Joe Strummer And The Mescaleros Streetcore Remastered Vinyl LP + CD

Available for the First Time on Vinyl Featuring Bonus Tracks

The death of Joe Strummer, at the age of fifty, on December 22, 2002 came as a deep shock. However the colossal response of the media to Joe's passing was a tribute to his enduring status as a musical archetype and legend. For example, in addition to front-page coverage in most major newspapers, The London Times also ran a respectful editorial lamenting his demise; television news carried lengthy tributes; at the Newcastle-Liverpool match at St James's Park on Boxing Day, before a crowd of 52,000 football fans, a minute's silence was held for the former Clash frontman before kick-off, an extraordinary gesture, but one that showed how Joe's combination of toughness and sensitivity touched people's hearts.

There is no exaggeration in the way that he is now spoken of as part of a tradition of folk protest singers stretching back to the likes of Woody Guthrie, on an iconic level with the likes of John Lennon, Bob Dylan and Bob Marley.

In fact, the posthumously released 2003 album, Streetcore, Strummer's final studio album, recorded largely with his group the Mescaleros, includes a version of Marley's reflective masterpiece "Redemption Song," which he had recorded with producer Rick Rubin; always an adept reinterpreter, you think of such classics as "Police and Thieves," "I Fought the Law," and "Brand New Cadillac," Joe's version of the song that is perhaps Marley's greatest work is almost as extraordinary as the original, and a tribute to one of his greatest inspirations. Guest musicians on "Redemption Song" include Rick Rubin on piano, Smokey Hormel (Tom Waits, Beck and Johnny Cash) guitar and Benmont Tench (Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers) organ.

Streetcore features Joe's most immediate and accessible material since his early work with the Clash, evidence of a man at the height of his creative powers. Other than "Redemption Song," the record is comprised of eight original songs, as well as a cover of the 1952 Bobby Charles' classic "Before I Grow Too Old," re-named "Silver and Gold." The titles of the original tunes are: "Coma Girl," "Get Down Moses," "Long Shadow," "Arms Aloft," "Ramshackle Day Parade," "All In A Day" (co-written with Danny Saber), "Burnin' Streets," and "Midnight Jam."

The record was made in several bursts. By the time that the first two-week session began, in February of 2002, this last Mescaleros line-up had settled as Martin Slattery (keyboards, guitar, sax), Scott Shields (guitar, also occasionally drums and bass), Simon Stafford (bass) and Luke Bullen (drums). After Joe's unexpected sad end, Slattery and Shields finished Streetcore at Unit 21 in Hackney, working on it for a month with Cameron Craig, the engineer who had recorded and mixed it. The record and sleeve were put together from detailed notes that Joe, with strange prescience, had elaborately detailed during the early part of December 2002.

Joe Strummer And The Mescaleros Streetcore Track Listing:

1. Coma Girl
2. Get Down Moses
3. Long Shadow
4. Arms Aloft
5. Ramshackle Day Parade
6. Redemption Song
7. All In A Day
8. Burnin' Streets
9. Midnight Jam
10. Silver And Gold

We Also Recommend