We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
John Brown's Body - Kings And Queens on LP + Download Card - direct audio

John Brown's Body - Kings And Queens on LP + Download Card

Easy Star Records

  • $ 1799

John Brown's Body Kings And Queens on LP + Download Card

As reggae music continues to reach new heights in America, John Brown’s Body (JBB) has been there from the beginning, constantly pushing and evolving the U.S. reggae scene through explosive live shows and critically-acclaimed recordings. Their new album, Kings And Queens, out on Easy Star Records, is no exception. Kings And Queens is the band’s most ambitious release to date, encompassing the entire history of the band’s sound and legacy. Lead vocalist Elliot Martin reaches new levels of songwriting by striking the fine balance between classic JBB roots and a fresh new JBB sound.

After releasing their exceptional and (mostly) instrumental JBB In Dub EP late in 2012, the band is already back with their eighth studio album, and first full-length since 2008’s chart-topping (#1 Billboard Reggae) Amplify. Kings And Queens features songs that are dripping in their signature “Future Roots” sound influenced by British Reggae (Aswad, Steel Pulse), roots classics (Burning Spear, Alpha Blondy), dub experimentation (Scientist, King Tubby, Sly & Robbie), and modern electronica. The results are a thicker, heavier style than most modern reggae.

Fan favorites like "Shine Bright," "Empty Hands," and "Plantation" make their album debuts alongside brand new songs that stretch the boundaries of the genre ("Fall On Deep," "Starver") and touch on the band's own history and place within reggae ("Step Inside," "Old John Brown"). The release is also available as an LP, the band's first ever, featuring 8 songs and a download card with the rest of the sequence.

Over the past five years, the Boston/Ithaca/Brooklyn-based octet has toured throughout Europe, New Zealand, and of course the U.S. performing at notable festivals Bear Creek, Gathering of the Vibes, Jam Cruise, and Wakarusa and with acts including Galactic, Groundation, and label mates The Black Seeds and Easy Star All-Stars. This road warrior-like behavior has lent its influence in the studio by capturing the infectious energy of a JBB show throughout Kings And Queens. LP with download card.

John Brown's Body Kings And Queens Track Listing:

1. Step Inside
2. Invitation
3. Plantation
4. Empty Hands
5. Fall On Deep
6. Dust Bowl
7. Shine Bright
8. The Battle
9. Starver 
10. Old John Brown 
11. Deep Summer 
12. Searchlight

We Also Recommend