Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
John Hulburt - Opus III on Vinyl LP - direct audio

John Hulburt - Opus III on Vinyl LP

Tompkins Square Records

  • $ 1898

John Hulburt Opus III on Vinyl LP

Tompkins Square is pleased to reissue Opus III by John Hulburt (1947-2012), a member of the legendary mid-60’s Chicago garage rock band The Knaves. Guitarist and singer-songwriter Ryley Walker discovered the 1972 private press LP in a Chicago record store, loved what he heard, and teamed with the label to produce the reissue. Opus III showcases Hulburt's exceptional talent on the acoustic guitar, proving somewhat of an anomaly in a city not known for its solo guitar recordings during this era. 

Walker writes in his liner notes, “Solo acoustic guitar music was adopted by several in the Berkeley school and the ever expansive roots fanatics in the South, but here in the middle of the country with harsh winters and the landlocked prison of corn fields, it was almost destiny that the amplifier assault of electric blues and controlled chaos of dance music came from the South Side.”

Opus III has another notable Chicago connection: It’s one of the earliest studio credits for Styx and Ohio Players engineer/producer Barry Mraz. Styx’s debut album would be also be released in 1972. The reissue of Opus III includes illuminating liner notes by John Hulburt’s sister, Cynthia Fritz; The Knaves’ Gene Lubin; and Walker, as well as vintage photographs.

John Hulburt Opus III Track Listing:

1. Inside & Otherwise
2. The Freak On The Black Harley
3. Street Singer's Rag
4. Guitar On My Knee
5. Evil Olive Waltz
6. John Hulburt's New Rag
7. Wooden Mistress
8. Sunrise
9. The Noble Ash Can
10. Clark Street
11. All Night Waitress
12. The Freak On The Black Harley (Revisited)
13. Variations On Yet Another Stolen Theme
14. O' For The Twelve-String
15. Coffee House Theme
16. In Search Of The Muse
17. Libby
18. Polydiom No. 2
19. Inner Garden
20. Halelujah ! I'm On Parole Again

We Also Recommend