Cart 0
Johnny Cash - At San Quentin on 180g Import LP - direct audio

Johnny Cash - At San Quentin on 180g Import LP

Speakers Corner

  • $ 3499

Johnny Cash At San Quentin on 180g Import LP from Speakers Corner

Johnny Cash was and will always remain a country music legend. When performing he chose to wear black as a symbol of solidarity with the oppressed and those who had no rights. His chosen outlaw image was just as convincing as the train-like boom-tiddy-boom sound of his rhythm group who lent their typical sound to many of his 500 songs.

At the very zenith of his career, Cash (who himself had committed a few minor offenses) had the idea of singing and playing for the bad guys behind the prison walls for nothing. Initially his suggestion to market the live recording was rejected, but finally his record company decided to release the album At Folsom Prison.

The surprise success of At Folsom Prison led Columbia Records to release At San Quentin shortly afterwards. The recording, in which Cash and his combo were frequently applauded more or less at the end of each verse, exceeded all expectations. Today it is still considered to be the 'Man In Black's' best live recording.

Johnny Cash At San Quentin Track Listing:

1. Wanted Man
2. Wreck Of The Old 97
3. I Walk The Line
4. Darlin' Companion
5. Starkville City Jail
6. San Quentin
7. San Quentin
8. A Boy Named Sue
9. Peace In The Valley
10. Folsom Prison Blues

We Also Recommend