Cart 0
Johnny Cash - Bootleg Volume 4: The Soul Of Truth on 180g Import 3LP + Booklet - direct audio

Johnny Cash - Bootleg Volume 4: The Soul Of Truth on 180g Import 3LP + Booklet

Music on Vinyl Records

  • $ 4499

Johnny Cash Bootleg Volume 4: The Soul Of Truth on 180g Import 3LP + Booklet

If not for gospel music, there never would have been a Johnny Cash. When Cash decided he wanted to be an entertainer, there was really only one type of music he intended to sing. Although Cash reinvented himself many times during his life, there was one way in which he never did: His faith. And this faith, with its roots so firmly planted in gospel music, stayed with him throughout his life.

Bootleg Volume 4: The Soul Of Truth presents an intimate and personal look at Cash's passion for gospel music and his own spiritual path. The 3LP-set collects three rare albums in their entirety: A Believer Sings The Truth; an untitled, unreleased 1975 set; and Johnny Cash Gospel Singer. Among these hard-to-find recordings are 15 unreleased tracks including outtakes from the sessions at which the albums were recorded.

Johnny Cash's son, John Carter Cash, provides liner notes that detail The Man In Black's upbringing on gospel and his passion for recording and performing this music despite resistance from his record labels. Though he would sing many kinds of music in his life, he was never truer than when he sang songs of faith.

To fully grasp Cash's legend, one must hear his earliest performances, as well as unreleased or under-promoted recordings that somehow remained out of earshot of an adoring (and still-expanding) public. Such is the mission of the Johnny Cash Bootlegs, a series of multiple-LP packages brimming with historical importance but also delivering thoroughly enjoyable listening experiences, each programmed to stand as a captivating doorway into Cash's popular legacy as effectively as any greatest hits compilation.

"At the very heart of this faith was gospel music," John Carter's notes conclude. "I invite you to join me, and get to know the man John R. Cash as I remember him. You will hear him in these treasured recordings. Listen carefully: Spirit, Faith, Gospel. The very source of his vision."

Johnny Cash Bootleg Volume 4: The Soul Of Truth Track Listing:


1. Wings In The Morning
2. Gospel Boogie (A Wonderful Time Up There)
3. Over The Next Hill (We ll Be Home) with Anita Carter
4. He's Alive with June Carter Cash
5. I've Got Jesus In My Soul
6. When He Comes with Rosanne Cash
7. I Was There When It Happened with Marshall Grant
8. I'm A New Born Man
9. Strange Things Happening Every Day
10. Children Go Where I Send Thee
11. I m Just An Old Chunk Of Coal
12. Lay Me Down In Dixie with Cindy Cash
13. Don t Take Everybody To Be Your Friend
14. You ll Get Yours And I ll Get Mine with Rodney Crowell
15. Oh Come, Angel Band
16. This Train Is Bound For Glory with June Carter Cash


1. I'm Gonna Try To Be That Way with Jan Howard
2. What On Earth Will You Do (For Heaven's Sake)
3. That's Enough
4. The Greatest Cowboy Of Them All with Jack Routh
5. Didn't It Rain
6. He Touched Me with Rodney Crowell
7. Way Worn Traveler with Helen Carter
8. I'll Have A New Life with June Carter Cash
9. Truth
10. Back In The Fold
11. Look Unto The East
12. I Was There When It Happened
13. Sanctified
14. Would You Recognize Jesus
15. That's Just Like Jesus
16. What On Earth Will You Do (For Heaven's Sake)
17. Keep Me From Blowing Away
18. Don t Give Up On Me


1. Over The Next Hill (We'll Be Home)
2. Far Side Banks Of Jordan duet with June Carter Cash
3. Our Little Old Home Town
4. Belshazzar
5. My Children Walk In Truth
6. The Old Rugged Cross duet with Jessi Colter
7. One Of These Days I m Gonna Sit Down And Talk To Paul
8. God Ain t No Stained Glass Window
9. Half A Mile A Day
10. Another Wide River To Cross
11. You're Drifting Away
12. Believe In Him
13. Over There
14. Gospel Road
15. What Is Man
16. Wildwood In The Pines
17. Never Grow Old

We Also Recommend