Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Johnny Cash - Johnny 99 on Limited Edition Colored 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Johnny Cash - Johnny 99 on Limited Edition Colored 180g Vinyl LP

Friday Music

  • $ 3198

Johnny Cash Johnny 99 on Limited Edition Colored 180g Vinyl LP

Mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios & Manufactured at RTI

Although he began his career as an outlaw to the Nashville establishment, Johnny Cash has come to literally define and embody country music. At first, his unique mix of hillbilly music with gospel and blues made him a perfect fit at Sam Phillips' Sun Records, where he recorded such classics as "Folsom Prison Blues" and "I Walk The Line."

From there, Johnny signed with Columbia records and embarked on one of the most remarkable musical careers of the twentieth century. Transforming into The Man In Black, Johnny spent more than thirty years reinventing and contradicting himself - breaking all of the rules of traditional country music only to emerge as the ultimate mythic hero and archetype of the genre.

No other artist has touched the world of music quite like Johnny Cash. He is the only person to be inducted into the Country Music Hall Of Fame, The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame and The Songwriter's Hall Of Fame. His very name is synonymous with the fight for the rights of the poor and downtrodden and the image of The Man In Black is as deeply American as the stars and stripes themselves.

1983's Johnny 99 was Cash's second to last release for Columbia before departing for Mercury. Issued at a career lull, the strapping 10-track all covers effort stands as one of his finest outings of the era and includes a pair of heartfelt Bruce Springsteen numbers ("Highway Patrolman," "Johnny 99"), Guy Clark's "New Cut Road," George Jones' "I'm Ragged But Right" and of course the stunning fan favorite "God Bless Robert E. Lee."

Limited edition colored 180g vinyl pressing from Friday Music, mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios and manufactured at RTI.

Johnny Cash Johnny 99 Track Listing:

1. Highway Patrolman
2. That's the Truth
3. God Bless Robert E. Lee
4. New Cut Road
5. Johnny 99
6. Ballad of the Ark
7. Joshua Gone Barbados
8. Girl From the Canyon
9. Brand New Dance
10. I'm Ragged But I'm Right

We Also Recommend