Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Joni Mitchell - Court and Spark 180g Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

Joni Mitchell - Court and Spark 180g Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Rhino Records

  • $ 2498

Joni Mitchell Court and Spark 180g Vinyl Vinyl LP 

Rhino Audiophile Vinyl Mastered from the Original Analog Tapes and Pressed on 180g LP: Joni Mitchell's Court and Spark Ranks #111 on Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time List

Court and Spark completed Joni Mitchell's transition from folk singer to sophisticated rock auteur. In addition to her meticulously crafted melodies and evocative, image-rich lyrics, the songs here are breezy and immediately appealing. This is in part due to Tom Scott's L.A. Express, a sinuous jazz-based combo, but also to Mitchell's knack for pop hooks. The album's accessibility made it Mitchell's most commercially successful, yet the personal intensity and insight of her songwriting never wavers. Court and Spark confirmed her standing as one of the most important and subtle talents of the rock era.

Named the 111th Best Album of All Time by Rolling Stone, Court and Spark is a fully fledged exploration of emotional opposites. For every positive, there is a negative. As Jon Landau wrote in his 1974 review for Rolling Stone:

"The actual opposites of Court and Spark--the thrill of courtship modulated by the fear of emotional commitment-- suggest a series of choices that Mitchell touches on, passes through, and defines with astounding compression--the alternatives of love and freedom, trust and paranoia, security and rootlessness, concern for herself and for others, compromise and pursuit of perfection, and even sanity and insanity...On Court and Spark the music is less a reinforcement of the lyrics and more of a counterpoint to them. An album about an individual struggling with notions of freedom, it is itself freer, looser, more obvious, occasionally more raunchy, and not afraid to vary from past work. It is also sung with extraordinary beauty, from first note to last."

We guarantee you've never heard this classic with such detail, presence, openness, clarity, or richness. This sumptuous remaster was handled with extreme care; no expense was spared or corner cut in making this 180g LP the very ultimate listening experience. Hear Mitchell play in your living room, complete with lifesize imaging and an ultra-realistic soundstage. You'll wish every LP sounded so sublime.

Joni Mitchell Court and Spark Track Listing:

1. Court and Spark
2. Help Me
3. Free Man In Paris
4. People's Parties
5. Same Situation
6. Car On A Hill
7. Down To You
8. Just Like This Train
9. Raised On Robbery
10. Trouble Child
11. Twisted

We Also Recommend