Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Katatonia - Discouraged Ones on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Katatonia - Discouraged Ones on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP

Peaceville Records

  • $ 2998

Katatonia Discouraged Ones on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP

Katatonia was originally formed in 1991 by Anders Nyström and Jonas Renkse. Their debut album, Dance of December Souls, was released in 1993 and saw the band immediately anointed for their eclectic brand of gothic doom/death metal alongside the genre’s defining bands like Paradise Lot and My Dying Bride.

On future albums a newer, sleeker Katatonia sound came to the fore, starting with a streamlined and structured collection of melodic dark rock songs that became third album Discouraged Ones; the main evolution point for modern day Katatonia. The album was recorded at the infamous Sunlight Studios by Fred Estby and Tomas Skogsberg (Entombed, Dismember) in 1997 and released in 1998.

Seen as something of a breakthrough album for Katatonia, The Discouraged Ones planted the seeds of the band's future evolution with its combination of dark, gothic rock/metal and ethereal, trance-like intensity. The epic compositions of old were replaced with stripped down, compact structures to make room for new vocal harmonies courtesy of Jonas Renkse, putting an end to the growling vocal style from prior releases and giving the band a broader appeal.

Presented as a limited edition double LP on heavyweight 180g vinyl in a gatefold sleeve, this edition also includes the bonus tracks "Quiet World" (from the Discouraged Ones recording session) and "Scarlet Heavens," a rare track from 1994.

Katatonia Discouraged Ones Track Listing:


1. I Break
2. Stalemate
3. Deadhouse
4. Relention
5. Cold Ways
6. Gone
7. Last Resort


1. Nerve
2. Saw You Drown
3. Instrumental
4. Distrust
5. Quiet World
6. Scarlet Heavens

We Also Recommend