Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Katatonia - The Fall Of Hearts on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP + Download - direct audio

Katatonia - The Fall Of Hearts on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP + Download

Peachville Records

  • $ 3698

Katatonia The Fall Of Hearts on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP + Download

The official follow-up to 2012's acclaimed Dead End Kings was recorded at Stockholm's Studio Gröndahl and Tri-lamb Studio, and was self-produced by Katatonia's Anders Nyström and Jonas Renkse. Mixing and mastering duties were carried out by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Ihsahn, Devin Townsend) at Fascination Street Studios, with Karl Daniel Lidén (Switchblade, The Ocean, Greenleaf) brought in as engineer. The dramatic yet desolate artwork was created by long time Katatonia designer and illustrator Travis Smith.

The Fall of Hearts is the first record to feature new drummer Daniel ‘Mojjo' Moilanen along with the addition of recently recruited guitarist Roger Öjersson (Tiamat), who came in just in time to sprinkle some blistering solos on the album. With its new lineup, Katatonia will continue to push its musical boundaries beyond its roots in the metal scene while drawing in new fans from across the musical spectrum like peers such as Opeth and Anathema have also done, cementing their place as one of the most revered and cherished of all bands in the world of modern heavy music.

Guitarist Anders Nyström commented on the addition of Roger Öjersson: "We're delighted to welcome our neighbor Roger, a true multi-musician extraordinaire, into our spiraling ways of darkness. Currently with this five-piece, there's nothing hold back or limiting Katatonia's potential, neither in the studio nor on stage. Our ever growing ambition may now begin to manifest our vision."

Formerly the lead vocalist and bassist in Swedish power trio Kamchatka and currently also the guitarist in Swedish metal band Tiamat, Öjersson joined Katatonia just in time to briefly appear on parts of the new album. Öjersson replaces Per "Sodo" Eriksson who left the band in 2014. Since that time, a couple of temporary guitarists have stepped into the fold such as Bruce Soord (The Pineapple Thief) and Tomas Åkvik (Nale, Lik), but Öjersson is effectively a full time member of Katatonia.

Öjersson added: "I feel honored and privileged to get to be a part of the Katatonia family. I hold these fellow musicians' artsmanship in very high regard and I am looking forward to setting out on this journey with eager anticipation."

Katatonia The Fall Of Hearts Track Listing:

1. Takeover
2. Serein
3. Old Heart Falls
4. Decima
5. Sanction
6. Residual
7. Serac
8. Last Song Before the Fade
9. Shifts
10. The Night Subscriber
11. Pale Flag
12. Passer

We Also Recommend