Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Kris Kristofferson - The Austin Sessions 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Kris Kristofferson - The Austin Sessions 180g Vinyl LP

Atlantic Records

  • $ 2198

Kris Kristofferson The Austin Sessions 180g Vinyl LP

New Remastered Edition of 1997 Recording featuring Stripped-Down Versions of Kristofferson's Finest Songs Plus Guest Appearances by Jackson Browne, Steve Earle, Vince Gill, Catie Curtis & Mark Knopfler!

In the summer of 1997, Kris Kristofferson spent a few days in Texas recording stripped-down versions of his best-known songs. Released by Atlantic Records in 1999, The Austin Sessions pairs the acclaimed outlaw country songwriter with a band of studio aces and guest harmony vocalists for intimate versions of classics like "Me and Bobby McGee," "Why Me?" and "Sunday Morning Coming Down." Rhino Records celebrates these powerful recordings with this new remastered 180g vinyl version.

Kristofferson recorded The Austin Sessions at Arlyn Studios in Texas with a group of session veterans from Los Angeles and Nashville hand-picked by producer Fred Mollin, who also plays acoustic guitar on the album. Kristofferson's longtime touring guitarist Stephen Bruton appears on several songs as well. Mollin recalls, "I knew in my heart that I could pull off a great under-produced production and give Kris the album he always wanted to make, one that felt like it had the uniqueness and rootsy feeling that Dylan accomplished on his early electric albums."

Several guests also join Kristofferson on the album, including Jackson Browne ("Me And Bobby McGee"), Steve Earle ("Sunday Morning Coming Down"), Vince Gill ("Help Me Make It Through The Night"), Catie Curtis ("Nobody Wins"), and Mark Knopfler ("Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends").

Kris Kristofferson The Austin Sessions Track Listing:

1. Me And Bobby McGee
2. Sunday Morning Coming Down
3. For The Good Times
4. The Silver Tongued Devil And I
5. Help Me Make It Through The Night
6. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again)
7. To Beat The Devil
8. Who's To Bless And Who's To Blame
9. Why Me
10. Nobody Wins
11. The Pilgrim: Chapter 33
12. Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends

We Also Recommend