We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Laurel Halo - DJ-Kicks Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Laurel Halo - DJ-Kicks Vinyl 2LP

iK7 Records

  • $ 2998

Laurel Halo DJ-Kicks Vinyl 2LP

The 68th edition of the DJ-Kicks mix series is another landmark one, with experimental producer Laurel Halo taking the reins. An electronic outlier, Halo hails from Ann Arbor, MI, but has been based in Berlin for a number of years. Landing on labels like Hyperdub, Honest Jon's and Latency, Halo has released a body of work ranging in style, yet cohered by production and compositional tendencies that sound distinctly her own.

Her studio work tends to be a multi-layered mix of the electronic and the acoustic, the organic and the synthetic. As a DJ, meanwhile, she lays down more floor-focused mixes of techno, bass and worldly drum rhythms, and her live sets are similarly visceral and direct.

Halo's DJ-Kicks kicks off with the first of two of her own exclusives, "Public Art," a tactile piano loop that sets the melodic tone of the mix in focus. Crunchy drums soon take over and begin what is a blistering ride through electro, trippy minimalism and textures that range from icy and dubby to steel plated and sharp from the likes of Parris and an exclusive from Rrose.

Another exclusive, rough and ready cut from Machinewoman follows. This is a mix forever on the move: one minute its tightly coiled and kinetic, the next it's loose and joyful before switching into more cerebral and insular passages that keep you intrigued.

Laurel Halo DJ-Kicks Track Listing:


1. Laurel Halo - Public Art
2. Parris - Puro Rosaceae
3. Rrose - Cricoid Pressure
4. Machinewoman - Just Made Some Jazz Music
5. FIT Siegel - Pennyrut
6. Siete Catorce - Canto


1. Ikonika - Bodied
2. Panda Lassow - Lachowa
3. Nick León - Pelican Dub
4. Stefan Ringer - Lust
5. Laurel Halo - Sweetie
6. Group A - Ketabali

We Also Recommend