We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Leatherface - Mush Vinyl LP + Download w/ Bonus Tracks (Backordered) - direct audio

Leatherface - Mush Vinyl LP + Download w/ Bonus Tracks (Backordered)

Fire Records

  • $ 2998

Leatherface Mush Vinyl LP + Download w/ Bonus Tracks

Taking their name from the cult classic horror film, 90s underground punk icons, Leatherface, were stalwarts of the UK scene, arriving at a time many thought that brand of brash songwriting had had its day. Re-writing the rule book when it came to punk requisites; passion; angst and power combined with undeniable songwriting and technical prowess. Led by the impassioned and emotive wordsmith Frankie Stubbs, it made them one of the most exhilarating bands of their time.

Hailing from the industrial town of Sunderland, Leatherface formed in 1988. With a line-up consisting of Stubbs, guitarist Dickie Hammond, bass player Stuart Schooler and drummer Andrew Laing.

Stubbs' rasping vocals complimented the explosive hooks and thrashing guitars, which quickly became their trademark. Following on from 1989's Cherry Knowle, 1990 saw the band sign to Fire and release the fierce and defining, Fill Your Boots. With Stubbs and Hammond beginning to collaborate more on songwriting, it also introduced new bassist Rob Turnball.

Breaking in a new bass player every album would quickly become a trend for the band. From this album "Razor Blades And Aspirin" and "Peasant in Paradise" would remain in their repertoire for over twenty years. With Fill Your Boots proving a success, later that year they would go on to produce the Smokey Joe EP.

However it was 1991's follow-up Mush that's continually been regarded as an absolute punk classic. Teaming up with engineer Paul Tipler (who also worked with Stereolab and Chapterhouse), Mush was recorded in Greenhouse Studios in North London (owned by Pat Collier of The Vibrators). Following praise from the music press, they soon found themselves doing John Peel and Mark Radcliffe sessions.

Fully re-mastered, this collection includes extensive liner notes featuring interviews with Frankie, as scribed by The Big Takeover’s Jack Rabid, leaving no stone unturned. The release also includes remastered bonus material via download, including a unique cover of "Message in a Bottle" and "Trenchfoot" from the Not Superstitious 7” and "You Are My Sunshine" and "Dreaming" from the I Want the Moon 7”.

Leatherface Mush Track Listing:

1. I Want The Moon
2. How Lonely
3. I Don't Want to Be The One to Say It
4. Pandora's Box
5. Not A Day Goes By
6. Not Superstitious
7. Springtime
8. Winning
9. In The Real World
10. Baked Potato
11. Bowl of Flies
12. Dead Industrial Atmosphere
13. Message In A Bottle
14. Trenchfoot
15. You Are My Sunshine
16. Dreaming

We Also Recommend