Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Lee Morgan - Cornbread Vinyl LP - direct audio

Lee Morgan - Cornbread Vinyl LP

Blue Note Records

  • $ 1998

Lee Morgan Cornbread Vinyl LP

Remastered and Reissued As Part of the Blue Note 75th Anniversary Vinyl Reissue Campaign

A sock-solid sextet session from the mighty Lee Morgan - recorded for Blue Note at the height of his mid-60s powers, and carried off in a beautiful blend of soul jazz and some slight modern touches. The group here is top-shelf all the way through - Jackie McLean on alto, Hank Mobley on tenor, Herbie Hancock on piano, Larry Ridley on bass, and Billy Higgins on drums - the last two of whom do a great job of bringing some complex yet swinging rhythms to the set.

The horn soloists are all as sharp as you might expect - and the album's a striking soulful date from McLean at a time when he was mostly going out a bit more. Titles include the funky "Cornbread," the searching "Our Man Higgins," and the lyrical ballad "Ceora" - plus "Most Like Lee" and "Ill Wind."


Lee Morgan (trumpet)
Jackie McLean (alto saxophone)
Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone)
Herbie Hancock (piano)
Larry Ridley (bass)
Billy Higgins (drums)


• Remastered and reissued as part of the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign
• Vinyl initiative spearheaded by current Blue Note Records President, Don Was, to include 100 essential Blue Note albums
• Includes special Blue Note 75 vinyl sleeve that features album cover art for 75 Blue Note titles
• First run of vinyl to include Blue Note 75th logo on back of package
• Key to the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign is the creation of high quality audio at an affordable price
• All year long Blue Note will celebrate their iconic artists and the history of the label with various events, digital initiatives, vinyl campaigns and more

Lee Morgan Cornbread Track Listing:

1. Cornbread
2. Our Man Higgin
3. Ceora
4. Ill Wind
5. Most Like Lee

We Also Recommend