We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Liela Moss - My Name Is Safe in Your Mouth Vinyl LP - direct audio

Liela Moss - My Name Is Safe in Your Mouth Vinyl LP

Bella Union Records

  • $ 2898

Liela Moss My Name Is Safe in Your Mouth Vinyl LP

"The act of making this record has felt truly exotic for me by way of its minimalism," says Liela Moss (Duke Spirit) of her debut solo album, My Name Is Safe in Your Mouth which more than lives up to the artist's promise of a fresh, bold adventure. As Liela puts it, "I was in my own modest studio, surrounded by deep rural Somerset, and building the album bit by bit over a year with just my producer and partner Toby Butler – with whom I co-wrote all the music.

We worked to our own schedule and across all seasons. Staring out of the window singing, I would watch the changing natural phenomena around me and sing to the forms outside. My window-view outside was like an umbilical cord; I was receiving little messages from the nature beyond and the songs were growing inside the studio, transmitting back."

That poetic exchange between exteriors and interiors assumes first focus on "Memories and Faces," an exploration of devotion where Moss likens herself to an animal, a storm and a river over the spacious backing of a reverberant piano; throughout, every arrangement is impeccably, sensitively judged to give Moss's lyrics maximum breathing room. Set to images of storms and mountains, the percussive "Subequal" maintains the intensity for a moody reverie on emotional rescue and resilience, the warm elasticity of Moss's voice more than a match for its introspective verses and ecstatic, soaring refrain.

Multi-tracked voices and mellifluous synths create cushioning backdrops for "Into the Flesh," an almost Kate Bush-like lullaby for someone (a child?) or something (a song?) coaxed into being; Moss's emphasis on the word "softly" speaks quiet volumes about how these songs are nurtured into life. Meanwhile, "Above You, Around You" meditates on selfhood while all around is in flux. The lush chorales and pillowy synths of "Moon" and restorative devotional of "Hidden Sea" provide loving climaxes to an album that marks great leaps forward for one of alt-rock's most magnetic voices.

Liela Moss My Name Is Safe in Your Mouth Track Listing:

1. Memories and Faces
2. Subequal
3. Into The Flesh
4. Above You, Around You
5. Wild As Fire
6. Manipura
7. New Leaves
8. Salutation
9. Moon
10. Hidden Sea

We Also Recommend