We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Lightnin' Hopkins - Blues In My Bottle on LP - direct audio

Lightnin' Hopkins - Blues In My Bottle on LP

Fantasy Records

  • $ 1998

Lightnin' Hopkins Blues In My Bottle on LP

The late great Lightnin’ Hopkins was one of the most natural of bluesmen - a poet who would often make up lyrics as he recorded. Because his meters and chord changes were frequently irregular, he was at his best when unaccompanied, as is the case on this 1961 Prestige date. Besides such blues standards as "Wine Spondee-O-Dee," "Blues in the Bottle," and "Catfish Blues," the album contains several autobiographical originals, including "Beans, Beans, Beans" about his brief stint on a railroad track gang and "DC-7" about his aversion to flying. Though he usually played electric guitar, the Texas blues titan performed here with an acoustic and the results are equally raw and rewarding.


Lightnin' Hopkins (acoustic guitar)

Lightnin' Hopkins Blues In My Bottle Track Listing:

1. Buddy Brown's Blues
2. Wine Spondee-O-Dee
3. Sail On, Little Girl, Sail On
4. DC-7
5. Death Bells
6. Goin' To Dallas To See My Pony Run
7. Jailhouse Blues
8. Blues In The Bottle
9. Beans, Beans, Beans
10. Catfish Blues
11. My Grandpa Is Old Too!

We Also Recommend