Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Los Shapis - Los Autenticos Vinyl LP (Backordered) - direct audio

Los Shapis - Los Autenticos Vinyl LP (Backordered)

Discos Horoscopo

  • $ 2598

Los Shapis Los Autenticos Vinyl LP

Los Shapis, a legendary group from the tropical Peruvian music scene, reissue their cornerstone first LP Los Auténticos (1981). The revival of this album which features the emblematic songs "El Aguajal" and "Como un errante" and was one of the pioneers of Andean Cumbia, commemorates the 36th anniversary of the band led by Julio Simeón ("Chapulín el Dulce") and Jaime Moreyra.

The relaunching of Los Auténticos forms part of a project to rescue and revive Discos Horóscopo, a record label founded 40 years ago by Juan Campos Muñoz, and which boasts one of the most important catalogs of chicha music from the '70s and '80s. The label was the main driving force of Andean cumbia in Lima, as it took on producing albums of artists that gambled on not only creating a new sound, but also molding a new type of aesthetic, led by Chacalón y La Nueva Crema, Los Shapis, Pintura Roja and Los Ovnis.

Formed in the city of Huancayo in February 1981, Los Shapis – whose name was inspired by a traditional dance, "Los Shapis de Chupaca" – were hailed as ambassadors of chicha and Peruvian cumbia in the early-80s. By 1983, the band was based out of Lima. Its members composed iconic songs about the provincial and profound identity of Peru, in a time marked by racism and classism from the most privileged sectors. A rhythmic tradition that would accompany the two most conflictive phenomena of the era: terrorism and economic debacle, reasons that motivated the massive migration from the countryside to the city.


• Remastered from master tapes
• Insert booklet
• Gatefold deluxe packaging with rare photos

Los Shapis Los Autenticos Track Listing:

1. Borrachito Borrachón
2. Mi Tallercito
3. Angelita
4. Como Un Errante
5. Si No Regresa
6. Perdidos
7. El Aguajal
8. Tu Boda
9. Esperanza De Amor
10. Volverás Mi Niñito
11. Mal Amigo
12. En La Selva

We Also Recommend