Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Mahvishnu Orchestra - Birds Of Fire 180g Import Vinyl LP - direct audio

Mahvishnu Orchestra - Birds Of Fire 180g Import Vinyl LP

Speakers Corner

  • $ 3498

Mahvishnu Orchestra Birds Of Fire 180g Import Vinyl LP

Of the three 'incarnations' by the spiritually inspired Mahavishnu Orchestra, the first is the most full-bodied. The enlightened John McLaughlin and his musicians were immortalized through their début album The Inner Mounting Flame (1971), which was included in the list of the 100 Best Jazz Albums; a short time later they recorded their highly concentrated studio compilation Birds Of Fire (1973). Long before the label World Music, the quintet set the standards for a meaningful amalgamation of dynamic rock with complex Indian rhythms and occidental conventions.

Already in the title piece, the musicians combine a sharpened Hendrexian style with expansive melodies, and with smacking grooves and fine riffs draw all that is grand in jazz ("Miles Beyond") into the musical center. With almost chamber-music-like density, "Thousand Island Park" blossoms out in soft colors, whilst as a contrast unremittingly flowing cascades in "Hope" search desperately for their destination. It is thrilling how finely weighed patterns ("One Word") escalate to techno-like violin playing and how the listener is invited to take part in an inner procession in the following "Sanctuary".

After such soaring heights, we are brought back to earth with a familiar funky sound in a popular, pastoral vein ("Open Country Joy") before taking off abruptly once again: in the final piece, "Resolution" with its slowly rising carpets of sound, all that is sublime in New Music conquers over world cultures.

This Speakers Corner 180g vinyl LP reissue was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head.

MusiciansFriday Musi

John McLaughlin, guitar
Jerry Goodman, violin
Jan Hammer, keyboards, synth
Rick Laird, bass
Billy Cobham, drums

Mahvishnu Orchestra Birds Of Fire Track Listing:

1. Birds Of Fire
2. Miles Beyond
3. Celestial Terrestrial Commuters
4. Sapphire Bullets Of Pure Love
5. Thousand Island Park
6. Hope
7. One Word
8. Sanctuary
9. Open Country Joy
10. Resolution

We Also Recommend