We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Mandolin Orange - Tides of a Teardrop (First Edition) Colored Vinyl LP - direct audio

Mandolin Orange - Tides of a Teardrop (First Edition) Colored Vinyl LP

Yep Roc Records

  • $ 2298

Mandolin Orange Tides of a Teardrop (First Edition) Colored Vinyl LP

North Carolina-based singer-songwriter Andrew Marlin and multi-instrumentalist Emily Frantz, aka Mandolin Orange, release Tides Of A Teardrop, their first new music since 2016. It finds Mandolin Orange exploring the intimate grief at the frayed edges of their songwriting and confronting loss head-on, facing down the depths of despair and emerging with something renewed and redemptive. It's a progressive, personal statement from one of roots music's most thoughtful young groups, on the cusp of yet another prodigious breakthrough.

On the self-produced set, their slow-burning acoustic meditations on love and loss are belied by a newfound directness as Marlin tackles the death of his mother, who died when he was 18. "I think her passing was almost the genesis of my writing," says Marlin. "That was when I really began to find refuge in writing songs." Marlin's songwriting voice emerges clearer than ever throughout, set in sharp relief by the indelible performances of Mandolin Orange's longtime touring band: Josh Oliver on keyboards and guitar, Clint Mullican on bass, and Joe Westerlund on drums.

Whether it's the trilling, weighty atmosphere of the allegorical "Wolves" or the Appalachian yearning of the hymn-like "Suspended In Heaven," Marlin and Frantz's vocal and instrumental interplay is as dialed in as ever, the instinctual expression of deeply known but unspoken truths.

The Tides Of A Teardrop (First Edition) comes pressed on colored double vinyl LP and includes a bonus EP featuring four traditional cover songs.

Mandolin Orange Tides of a Teardrop (First Edition) Track Listing:

Tides of a Teardrop

1. Golden Embers
2. The Wolves
3. Into The Sun
4. Like You Used To
5. Mother Deer
6. Lonely All The Time
7. When She’s Feeling Blue
8. Late September
9. Suspended In Heaven
10. Time We Made Time

Bonus EP
1. Little Margaret
2. Silver Dagger
3. Rolling Mills
4. I Just Think I'll Go Away

We Also Recommend