Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Maria Muldaur - Maria Muldaur 200g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Maria Muldaur - Maria Muldaur 200g Vinyl LP

Exhibit Records

  • $ 2998

Maria Muldaur Maria Muldaur 200g Vinyl LP

Exhibit Records Audiophile Series

Featuring the Evocative Hit Single "Midnight at the Oasis" and Guest Appearances by Dr. John, Ry Cooder, David Grisman, Ray Brown, Dave Holland, David Lindley, Bettye LaVette, Jim Keltner & Klaus Voorman Among Others

"One of the half-dozen best albums of 1973" - Rolling Stone

Maria Muldaur's strong debut features savvy studio vets, talented guests, strong tunes and Muldaur's best-known single "Midnight at the Oasis," a flirty invitation to forbidden pleasure, set in an Arabian Nights desert that falls somewhere between jazz and pop. A well-known music critic declared that "Midnight at the Oasis was probably responsible for the conception of more children than any other song of the 1970's."

The recording appeared in 1973, during a moment of great openness in popular music. Her album became an FM staple, she found just the right balance between her commitment to the traditional material she favors and her ability to interpret it in her own quirky and original recognizable singing style.

There's not a weak song, a weak arrangement, or a weak performance anywhere on it. Muldaur has an amazing voice, kind of a link between the worlds of folk, blues and jazz. This album has elements of rock, pop, blues, folk, country, bluegrass and even vaudeville and somehow, all the disparate elements blend well to make for a cohesive, remarkably unified album impossible to classify as a whole.

Among the musicians and vocalists appearing on the recordings are: Dr. John, Ry Cooder, Andrew Gold, David Grisman, Chris Ethridge, Ray Brown, Richard Greene, Dave Holland, David Lindley, Bettye LaVette, the multi-talented Freebo, Bill Keith of Bill Monroe's Bluegrass Boys, solo-Beatles drummer Jim Keltner, solo-Beatles bassist Klaus Voorman, and jazz-guitarist Amos Garrett.

But the album's greatest moments belong to Maria alone - her vocal gifts defy expression. After a decade of work this debut recording revealed her art as mature, sophisticated, sensual and wise. The songs and performances are sweet, poignant, salacious, intelligent and attractive. The high point may well be Wendy Waldman's "Mad Mad Me," which closes the album with the most hauntingly gorgeous two minutes and fifty-three seconds ever recorded.

What Maria Muldaur did back then and she is still doing, is recording excellent and eclectic albums, covering different music genres and displaying formidable musical knowledge - there's a huge love for music in this supremely talented artist.

Maria Muldaur Maria Muldaur Track Listing:

1. Any Old Time
2. Midnight at the Oasis
3. My Tennessee Mountain Home
4. I Never Did Sing You a Love Song
5. The Work Song
6. Don't You Make Me High (Don't You Meel My Leg)
7. Walkin' One and Only
8. Long Hard Climb
9. Three Dollar Bill
10. Vaudeville Man
11. Mad Mad Me

We Also Recommend