Cart 0
Mark Knopfler - Tracker on 180g 2LP - direct audio

Mark Knopfler - Tracker on 180g 2LP

Verve Records

  • $ 3499

Mark Knopfler Tracker on 180g 2LP

Mark Knopfler’s eagerly-anticipated eighth solo album, Tracker, follows-up 2012’s Privateering and was recorded as usual at the celebrated singer-guitarist’s British Grove Studios in West London, and produced by Knopfler with his longtime collaborator Guy Fletcher. The record features 11 new songs which are inspired by a wide range of subjects and contain Mark’s usual wryly but accurately observed vignettes wrapped up in a musical accompaniment of distinctive subtlety.

In addition to Knopfler on all guitars and Fletcher playing all keyboards, the album features a stellar core band of Glenn Worf (bass), Ian ‘Ianto’ Thomas (drums), John McCusker (fiddle) and Mike McGoldrick (flute). Further contributors include Nigel Hitchcock (saxophone), Phil Cunningham (accordion), Tom Walsh (trumpet) and Ruth Moody (vocals), leader of Canadian roots trio the Wailin’ Jennys. Moody duets on the album’s closing duet "Wherever You Go."

Subject matter on the record is drawn from characters and situations, both real life and imagined, in Knopfler’s own experiences. "Basil" is inspired by the poet Basil Bunting, whom Mark encountered when he was a teenage copy boy working on the Newcastle Evening Chronicle, and "Beryl" is about the Liverpudlian writer Beryl Bainbridge.

Knopfler explains the title of the album: “You’re involved in tracking down subject matter, tracking down an idea, investigating the whole thing. Sometimes you’re not exactly sure what it is you’re tracking, and you find out as you’re circling it, and getting closer to it. That’s part of the thrill.”

Of Moody, he adds: “I came across Ruth through hearing her singing with the Wailin’ Jennys. They always sounded great, and I saw Ruth singing on ‘The Transatlantic Sessions.’ Then I realised that, of course, she was making her own records, and that they were beautiful. There’s just something celestial about her voice.”

Mark Knopfler Tracker Track Listing:


1. Laughs And Jokes And Smokes And Drinks
2. Basil
3. River Towns
4. Skydiver
5. Mighty Man
6. Broken Bones


1. Long Cool Girl
2. Lights Of Taormina
3. Silver Eagle
4. Beryl
5. Wherever I Go (featuring Ruth Moody)

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet Write a review

We Also Recommend