We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Masaki Batoh - Smile Jesus Loves You! Vinyl LP - direct audio

Masaki Batoh - Smile Jesus Loves You! Vinyl LP

Drag City Records

  • $ 3298

Masaki Batoh Smile Jesus Loves You! Vinyl LP

Batoh is back! Solo again after last fall's new Silence album, the Japanese psychedelic guru makes some one-man performances, with others featuring Ghost and Silence family members, including free drumming legend of Fushitsusha and early Ghost, Hiroyuki Usui. In the richness of an all-analog production, Batoh decries the existential opacity of our latter-day faith, drawing deeply from the musical, linguistic and spiritual traditions of all countries, fused into a new music for the believers and non-believers alike in our new century.

"As long time listeners of Ghost and The Silence are well aware, Batoh’s music is of the world and for the world . . . it exists as part of the conundrum of the world, for us to hear and form thought or feeling. We have no way of knowing it, other than to listen. The defiance of a fixed notion in Batoh’s world and music is made clear, as with the ambiguities of last year’s mortality meditation Nowhere, by the title of his new album. This shouldn’t be taken at face value.

Following the mostly solitary activity of making’ Nowhere’, Batoh has invited several guests to play with him for parts of ‘Smile Jesus Loves YOU’. Like family members, collaborators from The Silence and Ghost make guest appearances, including, for two songs, ex-Ghost and legendary percussionist Hiroyuki Usui (Fushitsusha).

For the journey of this new album, Batoh takes us a great distance, singing in Japanese, English, Spanish and Latin, including an amazing cover of one of his heroes, Atahualpa Yupanqui, with lyrics translated from Spanish to Japanese, giving them a haiku-like feeling.

Batoh plays a variety of stringed instruments throughout, as well as mellotron and shanai, supported at times by the playing of others on flute, piano, lap steel, saxophone, contra bass and drums. The songs expand amoebically, with music styles of the world shifting and merging to form their whole. Through phases of dark and light, including some new musical discoveries in Batoh’s world, we travel through the multipart epic title track to salvation.

Masaki Batoh Smile Jesus Loves You! Track Listing:

1. In the Hour of Serpent
2. Pobrecito Mi Cigarro
3. Speculum
4. Banjo Suite
5. Shrine Coke
6. Uzumaki No Momento
7. Sarabanda
8. Smile Jesus Loves YOU

We Also Recommend