Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
McCoy Tyner - Tender Moments: Blue Note Tone Poet Series 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

McCoy Tyner - Tender Moments: Blue Note Tone Poet Series 180g Vinyl LP

Blue Note Records

  • $ 3298

McCoy Tyner Tender Moments: Blue Note Tone Poet Series 180g Vinyl LP

All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of McCoy Tyner's Tender Moments Mastered from the Original Master Tapes by Kevin Gray & Pressed at RTI: Reference-Caliber Blue Note Reissue Helmed by Music Matters' Joe Harley

On his second Blue Note album Tender Moments, pianist and composer McCoy Tyner explored the colors and textures available in a nonet setting with some of the finest musicians of the time: Lee Morgan on trumpet, Julian Priester on trombone, Bennie Maupin on tenor saxophone, James Spaulding on alto saxophone and flute, Bob Northern on French horn, Howard Johnson on tuba, Herbie Lewis on bass, and Joe Chambers on drums.

"The main task at the outset was to pick out the right horns, instrumentation that would combine to produce the particular sounds I had in mind," Tyner explained. "I believe the personnel I selected gave me plenty to work with, and a good range all the way from the flute down to tuba. Each note becomes very important in a group of this kind, but I think I showed you can get a big, full sound with six horns." Highlights of the session include dedications to John Coltrane ("Mode to John") and Thelonious Monk ("The High Priest") as well as the stunning ballad "All My Yesterdays."

Blue Note Records has announced the continuation of the acclaimed Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series in 2020. Launched in 2019 in honor of the label's 80th Anniversary, the Tone Poet series is produced by Joe Harley (from Music Matters) and features all-analog, 180g audiophile vinyl reissues that are mastered from the original master tapes by Kevin Gray of Cohearent Audio.

"The LPs are mastered directly from the original analog master tapes by Kevin at his incredible facility called Cohearent Mastering. We go about it in the exact same way that we did for so many years for the Music Matters Blue Note reissues. We do not roll off the low end, boost the top or do any limiting of any kind. We allow the full glory of the original Blue Note masters to come though unimpeded! Short of having an actual time machine, this is as close as you can get to going back and being a fly on the wall for an original Blue Note recording session."- Joe Harley


McCoy Tyner, piano
Lee Morgan, trumpet
Bennie Maupin, tenor saxophone
James Spaulding, alto saxophone & flute
Herbie Lewis, bass
Joe Chambers, drums
Bob Northern, French Horn
Julian Priester, trombone
Howard Johnson, tuba


• Blue Note Tone Poet Series
• Curated by Music Matters co-founder Joe Harley
• Audiophile-quality 180g vinyl LP
• All-analog mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray
• Manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated
• Deluxe gatefold jacket packaging

McCoy Tyner Tender Moments Track Listing:

1. Mode To John
2. Man from Tanganyika
3. The High Priest
4. Utopia
5. All My Yesterdays
6. Lee Plus Three

We Also Recommend