Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Mercury Rev - Desterter's Songs Vinyl LP - direct audio

Mercury Rev - Desterter's Songs Vinyl LP

Excelsior Melodies

  • $ 1898

Mercury Rev Desterter's Songs Vinyl LP

In 1998 Mercury Rev delivered the unexpected, a hit album. Deserter's Songs, the fourth studio long player from the New York-based band not only delivered three UK Top 40 singles, but also struck cultural pay dirt across the globe and still resonates today. Fully cementing Mercury Rev's rebirth as purveyors of a cosmic brand of the popular American songbook, Deserter's Songs is an album of grandiose proportions.

Merging jazz, folk, sweeping orchestration, and a dose of '60s rock, the album was intended as the band's swan song and therefore made with utter abandon. However, it became their most acclaimed platter and remains one of the essential records of the past 25 years. Deserter's Songs was released to huge worldwide acclaim and went on to be named album of the year in 1998 by NME, MOJO and many other publications, quickly propelling the legendary iconoclasts into living rooms worldwide and pioneered the launch of a new genre of music, heard today in bands like Arcade Fire and Beirut.

Originally released on V2 Records, Deserter's Songs was chosen as the first release on Light In The Attic's imprint, Modern Classics Recordings. Modern Classics' Deserter's Songs marked the first and long overdue LP reissue of this landmark album. The beautiful audio re-master comes courtesy of co-producer and original Mercury Rev member David Fridmann.

"Deserter's Songs is at once a lullaby, a trip, and a triumph." - Pitchfork (Top 100 Albums of the 1990's)

"A modern classic." – NME

Mercury Rev Desterter's Songs Track Listing:

1. Holes
2. Tonite It Shows
3. Endlessly
4. I Collect Coins
5. Opus 40
6. Hudson Line
7. The Happy End (The Drunk Room)
8. Goddess On A Hiway
9. The Funny Bird
10. Pick Up If You're There
11. Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp

We Also Recommend