Cart 0
Michael Brecker - Pilgrimage on Numbered Limited-Edition 180g 2LP Set from Mobile Fidelity - direct audio

Michael Brecker - Pilgrimage on Numbered Limited-Edition 180g 2LP Set from Mobile Fidelity

Mobile Fidelity

  • $ 6998

Michael Brecker Pilgrimage on Numbered Limited-Edition 180g 2LP Set from Mobile Fidelity

You Won't Believe Your Ears: Half-Speed Mastered Sound from Original Master Tapes is Remarkably Lifelike!

Brecker's Last Work: Saxophone Legend's Grammy-Winning 2007 Album is an Acknowledged Masterpiece

Jazz Doesn't Get Better Than This: Limited Edition Pressing Will Test the Limits of Your System

Pressing Named 2009 Recording of the Year by TONE Audio

Pilgrimage is the last album saxophone colossus Michael Brecker ever recorded. Released just months after he succumbed to leukemia in January 2007, it’s also the late instrumentalist’s hands-down best work—and truly, one of the finest jazz records made during the past 30 years. Winner of two Grammy Awards (Best Jazz Instrumental Album and Best Jazz Instrumental Solo for “Anagram”), Pilgrimage ranked #2 on the DownBeat critic’s poll and topped many year-end lists. And for good reason.

Nothing short of transcendent, the music soars on the resplendent playing of an astonishing quintet of jazz’s heaviest hitters: pianists Herbie Hancock and Brad Mehldau, drummer Jack DeJohnette, guitarist Pat Metheny, and bassist John Patitucci. No, it doesn’t get better than this. Mobile Fidelity is honored to offer this glorious statement on a sonically spectacular half-speed mastered 180-gram 2-LP set that, like Brecker’s swan song, is without equal. You will not believe your ears.

Devoid of melancholic emotion and self-pitying moods, Pilgrimage is a joyous affirmation of life—an invitation to embrace possibilities rather than a sad farewell. The performances are mesmerizing. None of the musicians here can do wrong, particularly the leader, whose solos both weave melodic yarns (“The Mean Time”) and create harmonic contrasts (“Five Months From Midnight”).

Realizing that these sessions would be his last, Brecker's mates match his passion and soul. Absolutely essential listening, Pilgrimage is the energetic sound of John Coltrane’s legacy, the culmination of a visionary talent high on the upbeat rhythms of life. You will feel better about everything in your world after hearing this album.

“On its own terms, Pilgrimage is a stunning achievement: 77 minutes of compelling original music that never loses its edge, solos that soar, dynamic group interplay that communicates wonderfully in the universal language.” –Steve Greenlee, Boston Globe, May 2007

Half-speed mastered from the original tapes and lovingly pressed onto supremely quiet 180-gram vinyl, Mobile Fidelity’s numbered limited-edition 2-LP set of Pilgrimage presents the entire tonal spectrum of the music amidst a wide, deep, natural soundstage. This is one of the best-sounding albums you'll ever hear. High and low frequencies are free of limiting ceilings. Instrumental separation and imaging are stunningly lifelike. Natural dynamics and details abound. Waiting for a truly great and great-sounding modern jazz album? This is it. Pilgrimage gets our highest recommendation.

"The original release won two Grammy’s (Best Jazz Instrumental Album and Best Jazz Instrumental Solo for “Anagram”), and the MoFi version strips away all of the compression, leaving just the music. Pressed to two LPs, the grooves are wide, dynamic, and free of distortion." --Jeff Dorgay, TONE Audio, Issue 25

DO NOT WAIT ON THESE. Once these numbered limited-edition copies are gone, they are gone forever. Order a low-numbered pressing now from direct audio!

Michael Brecker Pilgrimage Track Listing:

1. The Mean Time
2. Five Months from Midnight
3. Anagram
4. Tumbleweed
5. When Can I Kiss You Again?
6. Cardinal Rule
7. Half Moon Lane
8. Loose Threads
9. Pilgrimage

We Also Recommend