Cart 0
Michael Chapman - Rainmaker on 180g Import LP (Awaiting Repress) - direct audio

Michael Chapman - Rainmaker on 180g Import LP (Awaiting Repress)

Light in the Attack Records

  • $ 1998

Michael Chapman Rainmaker on 180g Import LP

On the heels of last 2010's superb reissue by Light In The Attic of Michael Chapman’s 1970 classic album Fully Qualified Survivor, comes his 1969 debut Rainmaker, originally released on the seminal Harvest label. Like the Fully Qualified Survivor album, Rainmaker is a psychedelic guitar-folk delight. The album kicks off with one of Chapman’s best known songs in “It Didn’t Work Out” which features a stellar cast of legendary English musicians of the era.

A true stylist in his own right, Chapman holds a middle line between the provocative electric rock of John Martyn and the traditional folk so wonderfully espoused by Bert Jansch. Another highlight is Chapman’s lyrical/vocal style, which would appeal to fans of Roy Harper. All of the proceedings were produced by Gus Dudgeon who also did Chapman’s FQS album as well as David Bowie’s “Space Oddity” single, and a ton of the early work of Elton John.

Light In The Attic has done an excellent job reproducing the gatefold vinyl in its exact original form including a deluxe Stoughton-printed jacket. And if that wasn’t enough, journalist Byron Coley penned 5,000 words of new liner notes taken from a fresh Chapman interview detailing the recording sessions. All packaged with many unseen photos of the era.

Michael Chapman Rainmaker Track Listing:

1. It Didn't Work Out
2. Rainmaker
3. You Say
4. Thank You PK 1944
5. No-One Left To Care
6. Small Stones
7. Not So Much A Garden More Like A Maze
8. No Song To Sing
9. One Time Thing
10. Sunday Morning
11. Goodbye To Monday Night
12. If I Bring You Roses
13. Among The Trees
14. Sleepy
15. On My Way Again
16. Mozart Lives Upstairs
17. Bert Jansch Meets Frankenstein (Take 2)

We Also Recommend