Cart 0
Michael Rabin - Mosaics, Volume 2 on 180g Import LP - direct audio

Michael Rabin - Mosaics, Volume 2 180g Import Vinyl LP

EMI Testament Records

  • $ 3498

Michael Rabin Mosaics, Volume 2 180g Import Vinyl LP

The Lost Capitol Tapes: Previously Unpublished

In 1950, when Michael Rabin made his official debut with the Philharmonic in his native New York City, conductor Dimitri Mitropoulos spoke of him as "the violin genius of tomorrow." Sadly, although Rabin acquired a reputation as a coruscating virtuoso, his death in 1972, at age 35, prevented the full blooming of his talent.

Among his celebrated recordings for the Capitol label was a 1959 album of encore pieces titled Mosaics; and his last Capitol sessions in 1961 were devoted to a second sequence of 10 pieces, with Brooks Smith, best remembered as Jascha Heifetz's accompanist, at the piano.

For reasons unrelated to the quality of the playing or the recordings, this second anthology was never released, but EMI Testament is proud to present it now on 180g audiophile vinyl!

Michael Rabin Mosaics, Volume 2 Track Listing:

1. Dvorak: Slavonic Dance, Op.72, No.2
2. Kreisler: Tambourin Chinois, Op.3
3. Debussy–Hartmann: Prelude, Book 1–No.8,; La Fille Aux Cheveux De Lin
4. Kroll: Banjo And Fiddle
5. Sarasate: Introduction And Tarantelle, Op.43
6. Falla–Kreisler: La Vida Breve – Spanish Dance No.1
7. Schumann–Heifetz: Waldszenen, Op.82–No.7, – Vogel Als Prophet
8. Kreisler: La Chasse (After Cartier)
9. Chopin–Sarasate: Nocturne In E Flat, Op.9, No.2
10. Wieniawski: Polonaise Brilliante No.1 In D, Op.4

We Also Recommend