Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Mike Cooper - Blue Guitar 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Mike Cooper - Blue Guitar 180g Vinyl LP


  • $ 2798

Mike Cooper Blue Guitar 180g Vinyl LP

Mike Cooper's Blue Guitar is a collection that first appeared on the British guitarist's own Hipshot CDr label in 2010 in a limited edition. It is presented here on Idea Records, for the first time on vinyl.180 gram vinyl pressing with Old Style Tip-On jacket packaging which includes lyrics and postcard inserts. Cover design by Tom Recchion.

Upon its initial release Cooper wrote: "For the past couple of years I have been collating a body of text culled (mostly) from Thomas Pynchon's novels Gravity's Rainbow and V and making cut-up collage pieces in the spirit of William Burroughs, Kurt Schwitters, Tom Phillips and others. Those two particular novels interest me because they are set in the period that I was born, however no reference to that period is intended in my pieces. Hopefully a more contemporary comment was found lurking within the words, lines, pages and paragraphs.

"Recently my interest in playing the guitar in a more or less 'traditional' manner, but still incorporating various 'extended techniques' (as opposed to using it purely as a sound source) has been re-kindled along with a renewed interest in blues, Greek rembetika, flamenco, Portuguese fado and other traditional and improvised music around the Mediterranean which in turn brought out the singer in me again...I have lived in the Mediterranean region for 30 years and listened to its music and I wanted to make something that would hopefully have some of its spirit without making reference to any of it musically."

Mike Cooper Blue Guitar Track Listing:

1. Torch Song
2. ATristes And Milongas
3. Dog Watch
4. In Moments Of Reverie
5. The Migrants Song
6. Inexplicable
7. Chinese And Italian
8. The Black Of Me
9. Black Dog

We Also Recommend