Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Miles Davis And Robert Glasper - Everything's Beautiful Vinyl LP - direct audio

Miles Davis And Robert Glasper - Everything's Beautiful Vinyl LP

Columbia Records

  • $ 1998

Miles Davis And Robert Glasper Everything's Beautiful Vinyl LP

Recordings of Miles Davis Reimagined by Robert Glasper with Guest Artists Erykah Badu, KING, John Scofield, Phonte, Bilal, Ledisi, Stevie Wonder, Laura Mvula, Hiatus Kaiyote & others!

Everything's Beautiful is a beautifully crafted eleven track collection produced by Robert Glasper, blending a diverse group of master takes and outtakes from across the incomparable Miles Davis Columbia catalog with an impressive lineup of contemporary artists and musicians to create original interpretations.

"I didn't want to do just a remix record," Glasper noted. "My idea was to show how Miles inspired people to make new art." Realizing that "Miles didn't have one audience," Glasper recruited a legion of diverse guest artists to add to the magic of the project including familiar collaborators like R&B musicians Erykah Badu, Ledisi, Bilal and KING. They are joined by British soul singer-songwriter Laura Mvula; hip-hop producer Rashad Smith; Grammy-nominated Australian neo-soul quartet Hiatus Kaiyote, rapper/singer Phonte, rapper/producer Illa J; jazz guitarist John Scofield, who was in Miles Davis' band; and the legendary Stevie Wonder.

"I am living in the spirit of Miles when I am doing what I'm doing because I am documenting my time period. I'm documenting what's around me. I'm documenting who I am now, where music is now," adds Glasper. "That's what this project is about. I wanted to do something where we can take some of Miles' ideas, shake them up, and try to show the influence of Miles and make new things. And that's the beauty of this whole album. The whole project is based on Miles, but it is based on Miles' vision, it's based on Miles' trumpet, it's based on Miles' voice, it's based on Miles' composition, it's based on Miles' influence, it's based on Miles' swag."

Everything's Beautiful is unlike any other in Miles Davis' discography. From the familiar (riffs and passages within the catalog) to the obscure (samples of Miles' in-studio instructions spoken after false starts), Glasper has built something unique but still unquestionably Miles. The cover art was created by Francine Turk and integrates elements of Miles' own artwork. With the cover, Turk creates a visual that is similar to the idea of Glasper taking fragments of Miles music and reinterpreting in a unique and modern way.

Miles Davis And Robert Glasper Everything's Beautiful Track Listing:

1. Talking Shit
2. Ghetto Walkin' featuring Bilal
3. They Can't Hold Me Down featuring Illa J
4. Maiysha (So Long) featuring Erykah Badu
5. Violets featuring Phonte
6. Little Church featuring Hiatus Kaiyote
7. Silence Is The Way featuring Laura Mvula
8. Song For Selim featuring KING
9. Milestones featuring Georgia Ann Muldrow
10. I'm Leaving You featuring John Scofield, Ledisi
11. Right On Brotha featuring Stevie Wonder

We Also Recommend