Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Miles Davis - On The Corner 180g Import Vinyl LP - direct audio

Miles Davis - On The Corner 180g Import Vinyl LP

Music on Vinyl Records

  • $ 3298

Miles Davis On The Corner 180g Import Vinyl LP

In May 1972, Miles Davis got together again with Paul Buckmaster, an English classical cellist involved in pop music and experimental rock, who introduced him to Karlheinz Stockhausen’s music. The two men immediately thought up scenarios combining funk rhythms with the formal and resonant abstractions of contemporary music. On June 1, amid the utmost confusion, Miles called into the studio a number of musicians using a variety of instruments: a guitarist, a bass player, multiple drummers and percussionists, as well as three keyboards and the “Indian room” sitar and tablas.

The structures imagined by Buckmaster were quickly forgotten, and when David Liebman arrived in the studio directly from his doctor’s waiting room, he was thrust in front of the microphone without headphones, even though the sounds of the bass, the keyboards, and the electric guitar could only be heard in the recording booth. The only indication he was given was the pivotal note of E flat, and the chaos created by the strangely discontinuous polyrhythm of the percussions.

The album On The Corner was completed by other sessions that Teo Macero put into shape, and it would become a cult album for the avant-garde of ambient and electro-jazz. Now reissued with completely remastered audio.

Miles Davis On The Corner Track Listing:

1. On the Corner
2. New York Girl
3. Thinkin' One Thing And Doin' Another
4. Vote For Miles
5. Black Satin
6. One And One
7. Helen Butte
8. Mr. Freedom X

We Also Recommend