Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Miles Davis - We Want Miles 180g Import Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Miles Davis - We Want Miles 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

Music on Vinyl Records

  • $ 4298

Miles Davis We Want Miles 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

We Want Miles is a collection of live recordings from Boston, New York (where he had played his last gig in 1975) and Tokyo from 1981, and they're among the first live recordings made after an extended hiatus. Playing with him are a level headed Marcus Miller on bass, Al Foster on drums, Mike Stern on guitar (not afraid to let it rip every once in a while), Mino Cinelu on percussion and Bill Evans holding his own on saxophone.

After the procrastinations of The Man With The Horn, We Want Miles went smoothly. Miles was definitely back and ready to go on the road to perform for his fans who had been awaiting him for six years. From June 26 to 29, 1981, he got himself into shape at Kix, a Boston club. At first the musicians were a bit disturbed by the extremely informal rehearsals. But very quickly each one found his bearings in these jam session-like numbers, which passed from swing to funk, and even reggae, and in which an unhoped-for standard, George Gershwin’s “My Man’s Gone Now,” was slipped in.

More convivial than usual, Miles smiled at his audience and, with the use of a wireless microphone, moved around the stage while performing his music. During the tour that followed (notably in Japan), he delighted his audience with his playful shimmying in “Jean Pierre.” Since 1958, this piece had often appeared fleetingly in his solos and in Boston was hinted at briefly in “Kix.” It would be the great hit of his comeback. This is the first vinyl reissue of We Want Miles since its original release in 1982, on double 180 gram vinyl in a gatefold sleeve with its original artwork.

Miles Davis We Want Miles Track Listing:


1. Jean Pierre
2 Back Seat Betty
3. Fast Track
4. Jean Pierre


1. My Man's Gone Now
2. Kix

We Also Recommend