Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Miles From India: A Celebration Of The Music Of Miles Davis on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 3LP Box Set - direct audio

Miles From India: A Celebration Of The Music Of Miles Davis on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 3LP Box Set

Domestic LP

  • $ 4498

Miles From India: A Celebration Of The Music Of Miles Davis on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 3LP Box Set

After unanimous acclaim from critics and consumers alike, the ground-breaking album, Miles From India is now available on vinyl. Miles From India is a cross-cultural celebration of the music of Miles Davis by India's foremost musicians collaborating with the legendary musicians who comprised the various Miles Davis Bands over the years. This audiophile 3 x 180g LP collector's set was specially re-mastered for vinyl and no detail is left to chance

In a startlingly original recreation of music associated with jazz legend Miles Davis, producer-archivist Bob Belden, renowned for his Grammy Award-winning reissue work on a series of Miles Davis boxed sets for Sony/Columbia, along with co-arranger Louiz Banks (celebrated keyboardist from India), has recast familiar themes from such landmark recordings as Bitches Brew, In A Silent Way, and Kind of Blue with an East Meets West sensibility on Miles...From India. An incredibly ambitious project involving two dozen musicians from two separate continents recording in studios around the world, Miles...From India is a cross-cultural summit meeting that puts a provocative pan-global spin on such Miles classics as "All Blues," "Spanish Key," "So What," "It's About That Time" and "Jean Pierre."

Sitar and tablas, ghatam and khanjira, mridangam and Carnatic violin blend seamlessly with muted trumpet and saxophones, screaming electric guitar and grooving electric bass lines, piano, upright bass and drums on this profound fusion of Indian classical and American jazz. Recorded in Mumbai and Madras, India and New York, Chicago and Los Angeles, the music on Miles From India was performed by classical and jazz musicians from India with the addition of musicians who have recorded or performed with Miles Davis over the span of five decades.

The Miles alumni included on the sessions are saxophonists Dave Liebman (1972-74) and Gary Bartz (1970-71), guitarists Mike Stern (1981-84), Pete Cosey (1973-76)
and John McLaughlin (1969-72), bassists Ron Carter (1963-69), Michael Henderson (1970-76), Marcus Miller (1981-1984), Benny Rietveld (1987-91), keyboardists Chick Corea (1968-72), Adam Holzman (1985-87) and Robert Irving III (1980- 88), drummers Jimmy Cobb (1958-63), Leon 'Ndugu' Chancler (1971), Lenny White (1969) and Vince Wilburn (1981, 1984-1987) and tabla player Badal Roy (1972-3). The Indian contingent is represented by keyboardist Louiz Banks, drummer Gino Banks, American-born alto saxophonist Rudresh Mahanthappa, sitarist Ravi Chari, Vikku Vinayakram (a charter member of Shakti) on ghatam, V. Selvaganesh (a member of Shakti and Remember Shakti) on khanjira, U. Shrinivas (from Remember Shakti) on electric mandolin, Brij Narain on sarod, Dilshad Khan on sarangi, Sridhar Parthasarathy on mridangam, Taufiq Qureshi and A. Sivamani on percussion, Kala Ramnath on Carnatic violin, Rakesh Chaurasia on flute and Shankar Mahadevan & Sikkil Gurucharan on Indian classical vocals.

Miles From India Track Listing:

1. Spanish Key
2. All Blues
3. Ife (fast)
4. In A Silent Way (Intro)
5. It's About That Time
6. Jean Pierre
7. So What
8. Miles Runs The Voodoo Down
9. Blue In Green
10. Great Expectations (Orange Lady)
11. Ife (slow)
12. Miles From India

We Also Recommend