Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Mimicking Birds - Eons Vinyl LP + Download - direct audio

Mimicking Birds - Eons Vinyl LP + Download

Glacial Pace Records

  • $ 1698

Mimicking Birds Eons Vinyl LP + Download

Nate Lacy spent the years since his teens exploring his inner world and his connection with the universe at large. These days, Lacy is focusing his gaze further outward, exploring what he calls "the infinite and the infinitesimal," while also keeping lyrical watch on the crossroads where our digital future and our pastoral past bump up against each other.

Few are the artists who are able to bring such thorny and thoughtful issues to bear in their music, but that is just one of the many reasons that Eons, the new album from Mimicking Birds, is so very special. How this comes out through Lacy is in toothsome lyrics that are filled to bursting with imagery, philosophical questions, and deep personal concerns. That he finds ways to tie these concepts together without losing his way or our fascination with them is a testament to his songwriting prowess.

The rest of the band - Aaaron Hanson and Adam Trachsel - works to remain connected to the Birds' of yore, emphasizing fingerpicked acoustic guitars, the sturdy tones of a stand-up bass, and restrained drums, while pushing into the future as well. Too, Eons feels as expansive as its title thanks to the help of producer Jeremy Sherrer (The Gossip, 1776). He helped weave some gorgeous electronic textures into the songs - listen for the skittering programmed beat that helps carry "Owl Hoots" forward, or the swells of keyboards that pull closing track "Movin' On" towards an '80s sunrise.

Mimicking Birds Eons Track Listing:

1. Memorabilia
2. Acting Your Age
3. Owl Hoots
4. Spent Winter
5. Bloodlines
6. Night Light
7. Water Under Burned Bridges
8. Wormholes
9. Seeing Eye Dog
10. Moving On

We Also Recommend