We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Mountain - Climbing! Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl LP (Special Order) - direct audio

Mountain - Climbing! Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl LP (Special Order)

Friday Music

  • $ 2998

Mountain Climbing! Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl LP

Mastered from the Original Windfall Records Tapes by Joe Reagoso with Kevin Gray

Mountain/Friday Music 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Series Begins

Mountain’s "Mississippi Queen" is one of the most revered hard rock songs in modern time. Amongst other staples like Deep Purple’s "Smoke On The Water" and BTO’s "Takin’ Care Of Business," the song will forever stand the test of time. That particular smash hit was the lead off track from their top album chart hit Climbing!

Climbing! was released in 1970, went gold immediately and began a very successful partnership albeit brief for this arena packing quartet. Consisting of guitar shredder/vocalist extraordinaire Leslie West, the late great Felix Pappalardi on bass, keys and vocals, the explosive Corky Laing on drums and the masterful Steve Knight on organ/piano, Mountain was the band of choice for many hard rock fans throughout the '70s.

Gaining mass momentum from their appearance at Woodstock in 1969, the band got in the studio and cut this masterwork with mega producer and Mountain bassist Felix Pappalardi (Cream, Hot Tuna, Jack Bruce), churning out soon to be smash hits that would be forever played on classic rock stations globally. Since Cream was no longer an entity, the great Felix Pappalardi’s affiliation with this groundbreaking trio surely paid off with his studio skills, production techniques and knowledge of working with sounds and elements that surely changed the way a lot of us listen to albums these days.

Tracks like Jack Bruce and Pete Brown’s "Theme For An Imaginary Western" and "For Yasgur’s Farm" would show not only the studio wizardry of the great Felix Pappalardi but also his unique vocal prowess and artillery like bass playing, which today is emulated by many, and made this album the masterpiece it is. More burners like Leslie West’s delivery on "Never In My Life" and "Sittin’ On A Rainbow" showcase the brilliance of the man, the guitar and the voice which is equally important whenever discussing the talents of this superstar blues rock master.

Corky Laing and Steve Knight propel the band into realms not heard in years with their never tiring percussive drum and keyboard interplay. Just check out the hard work driving sounds of "Silver Paper" and "Boys In The Band." Even an acoustic side of Mountain enhances the masterwork with a pair of exceptional tunes "To My Friend" and "The Laird," highlighting the acoustic and folk roots of both Leslie West and Felix Pappalardi.

Friday Music is very honored to announce The Mountain/Friday Music 180 Gram Audiophile Series with their first installment of the band's debut album Climbing! Mastered impeccably from the original Windfall Records tapes by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios with Kevin Gray and pressed at R.T.I., this 1970 masterpiece is seeing its first time audiophile vinyl mastering as well as its first vinyl release in almost four decades.

As part of this limited edition release, Friday is also including the original LP cover gatefold cover graphics, including the stunning artwork and photography not seen in years and the unique Windfall LP label artwork which was also a part of the whole package.

Mountain Climbing! Track Listing:

1. Mississippi Queen
2. Theme For An Imaginary Western
3. Never In My Life
4. Silver Paper
5. For Yasgur's Farm
6. To My Friend
7. The Laird
8. Sittin' On A Rainbow
9. Boys In The Band

We Also Recommend