Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Musiq Soulchild - Aijuswanaseing Vinyl  2LP - direct audio

Musiq Soulchild - Aijuswanaseing Vinyl 2LP

Def Jam Records

  • $ 3498

Musiq Soulchild Aijuswanaseing Vinyl 2LP

Charging head first into a battlefield of black noise, the musical revolution you'll hear here is Musiq Soulchild's stunning 2000 debut Aijuswanaseing (I Just Want To Sing). Coming from the brotherly love streets of Philadelphia, whose roots from jazz to hip hop runs deep, Musiq Soulchild is on a mission to shatter the misconception that his type of music was dead. On lead single "Just Friends (Sunny)" its obvious that his moniker Musiq Soulchild wasn't chosen in vain. Sleek as old-school black velveteen poster hanging behind a jukebox "Just Friends," which first appeared on the multi-platinum soundtrack Nutty Professor II: The Klumps, embraces the listener with an innocent romanticism rarely heard on the radio.

From awestruck to melancholy, the stunning Aijuswanaseing, which was recorded mostly at Touch Of Jazz studios, is overflowing with the naked power of Musiq's electric emotions. "Girl Next Door," featuring the vocals of soul-sister Ayana of the duo Aaries, is a lovely gem dedicated to that little tom-boy who grew-up to be fine as cherry wine on Saturday night. With the laid back jazzy arrangement and sweet lyrics, "Girl Next Door" is a tender testament of unrequited passion.

Musiq's extended soul-family also includes his songwriting partner Carvin Haggins. "Me and Carvin are like a two-man Motown team," jokes Musiq. "We mix our experiences and just try to keep the lyrics as real as possible. Although an emotional track like "You & Me" might be more Carvin - he has a flare for the sadness and dramatics - we usually balance each other perfectly. It's a blessing." Working with producer James Poyser, who has worked with Lauryn Hill and D'Angelo, was another blessing in the short career of Musiq Soulchild.

On the bouncy uptempo jam "My Girl," which Poyser laced with breezy melodies and a simple bass line, Musiq's boyish charm once again shines seductively. With Aijuswanaseing, Musiq Soulchild delivers with an emotional rawness and purity that is rare in a debut disc.

Musiq Soulchild Aijuswanaseing Track Listing:

1. Scratch Introlude
2. Girl Next Door
3. You and Me
4. Just Friends (Sunny)
5. Mary Go Round
6. 143
7. Love
8. My Girl
9. Musiq Soulchild
10. Seventeen
11. L Is Gone
12. Speechless
13. Poporatzi
14. Settle For My Love
15. You Be Alright

We Also Recommend