Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Nat King Cole - After Midnight on 180g 45RPM 3LP Set (Awaiting Repress) - direct audio

Nat King Cole - After Midnight on 180g 45RPM 3LP Set (Awaiting Repress)

Analogue Productions

  • $ 7498

Nat King Cole After Midnight on 180g 45RPM 3LP Set from Analogue Productions

Mastered from the Original First-Generation Full-Track Monoaural Session Tapes by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman at Acoustech

1956 Jazz-Oriented Set Boasts Exquisite Sonics: Cole's Piano Has Never Sounded as Vibrant or Tonally Resonant

Includes Six Additional Tracks Not On Original Album and Six-Panel Booklet

Cole's Just One Of Those Things, Where Did Everyone Go?, A Nat King Cole Story, St. Louis Blues, Love Is the Thing, and The Very Thought of You also Available on 180g 45RPM LPs from Analogue Productions 

The incredibly perfect blending of Nat King Cole's supreme talents as jazz pianist/vocalist with small combos featuring fellow jazz alumni and commercial pop and jazz material proved to be wildly successful with this 1956 release. After Midnight firmly displays the depth of Cole's jazz roots and it maintains the perfect balance between romantic charm and musical invention. The last full-length jazz record Cole would release, it includes contributions from guitarist John Collins, trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison, violinist Stuff Smith, and valve trombonist Juan Tizol.

In addition to the full original album, five additional tracks and one alternate take from the original sessions are included in Analogue Productions' splendid LP release. Mellow, classy, focused and vibrant, After Midnight was a hit and an instant classic upon its release in 1956 and remains a gem to treasure today.

Never before has this record sounded so rich, with every detail and nuance restored in a manner that places you in the recording studio with Cole. Mastered fully analog from the original first-generation full-track monaural session tapes by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray to 45-RPM 180-gram vinyl, this exemplary recording is presented in appropriately exquisite sound quality as you've never experienced before.

In addition, this superb reissue comes with a stunning six-panel booklet complete with rare photos, a 4,600-word essay by Chris Hall on the album, and a 1,200-word essay by Michael Fremer about the remastering process. Be certain to order this historical release as well Analogue Productions' other must-have Cole 180g 45RPM LP reissues!

"Cole's voice is up front, and the accompaniment, especially the massed strings, has a colorful vividness. After Midnight was recorded in mono, and it is among the very best 1.0-channel reissues. Played with a mono cartridge, it displays intimacy and tonal purity that must be heard to be believed. Recordings this revealing offer new ways of evaluating everything about the recording sessions." - Marc Mickelson/The Audio Beat (September 5, 2010)

Nat King Cole After Midnight Track Listing:

1. Just You, Just Me
2. Sweet Lorraine
3. Sometimes I’m Happy
4. Caravan
5. It’s Only A Paper Moon
6. You’re Looking At Me
7. Lonely One
8. Don’t Let It Go To Your Head
9. I Know That You Know
10. Blame It On My Youth
11. When I Grow Too Old To Dream
12. (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66
13. Candy (bonus track)
14. What Is There To Say? (bonus track)
15. I Was A Little Too Lonely (bonus track)
16. You Can Depend On Me (bonus track)
17. Two Loves Have I (bonus track)
18. Just You, Just Me, Take 2 (bonus track)
19. It's Only a Paper Moon, Take 3 (bonus track)

We Also Recommend