We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0

New Order - Movement: Definitive Edition 180g Vinyl LP + 2CD + DVD Box Set

Rhino Records

  • $ 13998

New Order Movement: Definitive Edition 180g Vinyl LP + 2CD + DVD Box Set

Lift Off Lid Movement Box Set Featuring Original Album On 180g Vinyl LP/CD, Bonus CD Of Previously Unreleased Tracks and DVD Of Live Shows and TV Appearances, Plus Hard Backed Book!

In 1981 New Order released their debut album, Movement, an LP which would go on to be viewed as one of the best album of the ‘80s. At the time of its release, however, it found the band between a rock and a hard place, trying to move forward while not dismissing the past, which proved to be a very difficult dance indeed. In the wake of Ian Curtis's suicide in May of 1980, the members of Joy Division had a decision to make: should they carry on without Curtis and continue using the same name or move forward as an all-new musical entity?

In the end, they chose the latter, renaming themselves New Order and continuing onward, but it was a strange time for Bernard Sumner, Peter Hook, and Stephen Morris, to be sure, with many questions to be answered, first and foremost among them, "Who's going to be singing lead now?" All three gentlemen took their shot at the microphone, but it was Sumner who was ultimately chosen to step up and take over for Curtis. Offering the first glimpse of the pioneering hybrid sound which would go on to help redefine dance and rock music, the cathartic, Martin Hannett-produced Movement is highlighted by the darkly melodic stand-outs "Truth," "Denial" and "Dreams Never End."

The Movement box set includes the 180g vinyl LP with its original iconic sleeve designed by Peter Saville, the original album CD in a replica mini album sleeve, a bonus CD of previously unreleased tracks, and a DVD of live shows and TV appearances plus a hard backed book, all housed in a lift off lid box.

New Order Movement: Definitive Edition Track Listing:

LP / CD1 (original album)

1. Dreams Never End
2. Truth
3. Senses
4. Chosen Time
5. ICB
6. The Him
7. Doubts Even Here
8. Denial

CD2 (previously unreleased tracks)

1. Dreams Never End (Western Works Demo)
2. Homage (Western Works Demo)
3. Ceremony (Western Works Demo)
4. Truth (Western Works Demo)
5. Are You Ready For This? (Western Works Demo)
6. The Him (Cargo Demo)
7. Senses (Cargo Demo)
8. Truth (Cargo Demo)
9. Dreams Never End (Cargo Demo)
10. Mesh (Cargo Demo)
11. ICB (Cargo Demo)
12. Procession (Cargo Demo)
13. Cries And Whispers (Cargo Demo)
14. Doubts Even Here (Instrumental) (Cargo Demo)
15. Ceremony (1st Mix – Ceremony Sessions)
16. Temptation (Alternative 7”)
17. Procession (Rehearsal Recording)
18. Chosen Time (Rehearsal Recording)

New Order – Movement DVD

Live Shows

1. Hurrah’s, NY 1980
2. In A Lonely Place
3. Procession
4. Dreams Never End
5. Mesh
6. Truth
7. Cries & Whispers
8. Ceremony

Recorded on 27th September, 1980.
Produced, directed and filmed by Merrill Aldighieri

Peppermint Lounge, NY 1981

1. In A Lonely Place
2. Dreams Never End
3. Chosen Time
4. ICB
5. Senses
6. Denial
7. Everything’s Gone Green
8. Hurt – instrumental
9. Temptation

TV Sessions
Granada Studios 1981

1. Doubts Even Here
2. The Him
3. Procession
4. Senses
5. Denial

BBC Riverside 1982

1. Temptation
2. Chosen Time
3. Procession
4. Hurt – instrumental
5. Senses
6. Denial
7. In A Lonely Place


Ceremony CoManCHE Student Union 1981
1. In A Lonely Place Toronto 1981
2. Temptation Soul Kitchen, Newcastle 1982
3. Hurt Le Palace, Paris 1982
4. Procession Le Palace, Paris 1982
5. Chosen Time Pennies 1982
6. Truth The Haçienda 1983
7. ICB Minneapolis 1983

We Also Recommend