We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Nick Drake - Made To Love Magic Vinyl LP - direct audio

Nick Drake - Made To Love Magic Vinyl LP

Island Records

  • $ 2298

Nick Drake Made To Love Magic Vinyl LP

With the release of all three of his studio albums, considered by many to be pinnacles of both the British folk-rock scene and the entire rock singer/songwriter genre, plus a rarities collection, every known recording legendary '70s folk-rocker Nick Drake made during his brief lifetime had been issued - or so it was thought. 30 years after his tragic death, a new Drake song surfaced.

Made To Love Magic (Island/UMe), originally issued in 2004, features not only rarities, previously unreleased recordings and new remixes but also the newly discovered "Tow The Line," not heard since it was recorded in 1974 and believed to be the last song he ever wrote. Compiled with the full cooperation of Drake's sister Gabrielle, Made To Love Magic offers a fitting addition to Drake's all-too-short canon of work.

Following his 1969 debut Five Leaves Left, 1970's Bryter Layter and 1972's Pink Moon, Drake returned to the studio in February 1974 to record what had long been thought to be his final songs: "Black Eyed Dog," "Rider On The Wheel," "Voices" and "Hanging On A Star." Hastily mixed in mono, they appeared on the 1986 Time Of No Reply rarities bonus disc for the Fruit Tree box set. But while mixing them from the multi-track tapes into true stereo for the first time for Made To Love Magic, original engineer John Wood discovered a new take of "Hanging On A Star" - followed on that tape by "Tow The Line."

The earliest tracks on Made To Love Magic stem from Drake's time at Cambridge University in 1968 when fellow student Robert Kirby recorded several songs. Luckily those tapes survived and two were released here for the first time: the only version of "River Man" without orchestration and the earliest recording of "Mayfair." Two other songs, "Magic" and "Time Of No Reply," are also heard for the first time in their original arrangements, as Drake intended them (recreated by Kirby in 2003). A longer, more relaxed version of Five Leaves Left's "Three Hours," with the late "Reebop" Kwaakhu Baah on congas, was discovered on a multi-track tape and is also released here for the first time.

Nick Drake's life came to a tragic end when he died at the age of 26 on November 26, 1974, from an overdose of antidepressant medication. Today, thanks to continued revivals and even previously unheard recordings, a new generation is discovering the somber beauty of the music of Nick Drake.

Nick Drake Made To Love Magic Track Listing:

1. Rider on the Wheel
2. Magic
3. River Man
4. Joey
5. Thoughts of Mary Jane
6. Mayfair
7. Hanging on a Star
8. Three Hours
9. Clothes of Sand
10. Voices
11. Time of No Reply
12. Black Eyed Dog
13. Tow the Line

We Also Recommend